What Is The Secret To Learning A Foreign Language? by Project Andina

in #spanish7 years ago (edited)

I can speak words and phrases from twelve languages, but only my native English fluently. I have a friend who told me, "You're the only person I know that can live in a foreign country and not speak the language." I have worked, lived and traveled in 31 countries thus far. I'm struggling with learning Spanish. I look up words in the Spanish/English dictionary, but soon after forget. One would think that living in Peru, having total emersion, that I would be speaking Español in no time. I can read and write it much better than speak or understand it. While on the street, or waiting in line somewhere I listen to the conversations around me but only understand a few words here and there, and try to get the jist of it. Most of the time there is no clear pronunciation in the words, and to me it sounds like mumble.
Most of my Spanish revolves around the Mercado, Bodega's,and Restaurants, it's conversational that I have trouble with. Besides practice, can anyone offer ways of learning a foreign language?

Sort:  

Pimsleur language learning supplemented with rammstien taught me German in two months.

I've forgotten it all since. Nobody to speak it with:(

I was in Spangdahlem Germany for four years, but mostly on base surrounded by Americans. I picked up some basics is all. For Spanish, I've tried Loretta Stone during a college class, learning some, but by no means anywhere near fluent.

Well gamification helps engagement and retention. I know of two video games that teach Japanese, and one tabletop game that teaches Korean. I'm sure there's a game that teaches Spanish.

Interesting. Thanks, I'll have to look into that.