You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Digital Art] Experimenting with new techniques / Experimentando con nuevas técnicas

in #spanish5 years ago

She is pretty, somehow I still like your black and white shading better than the colour version. Don't take is as a critique per se I've done the same thing and still do when I started painting in digital, things get to washed out and polished and sometimes even thought the "Line" is not that "realistic" it has a strong effect in the drawings. My good friend and illustrator Charles Vess (he's one of the greatest of this generation, just won the Hugo Award as best illustrator) told me, Pris, you get "too clean" keep some of your original lines and mess into the coloured version and I've tried to keep some of it, and I feel it got better.

Sort:  

I don't take your comment badly at all, I understand perfectly what you say, and I appreciate it is observation, I'm still in a period of learning with digital art, I still need to turn on many things. The observation you made is very valid, so you would not lose the essence of the original drawing.

I'm in the same journey myself, digital is a way to enhance things. It's clean, it's faster, it's less "messy" but it has that ZOOM that allows you to get into details so much that sometimes we lose the overall look of things. Like in my first album in 2006 I switched to digital for some drawings and I spent half a week in a raven that was meant to be printed at 1 centimeter. So we are often told, ohh smooth lines, ohhh more realism, but I believe the fresher are the inbetweens those were we keep our "essence" but use the digital to enhance. Your line work is very fresh and very steady, I think some of it would still provide strenght to the final result. If it's your choice, it's all about choices and they are personal, this is YOUR ART there is no right or wrong there. Enjoy!