Conquering a fear

in #speaking7 years ago

Okay, so I have dreams of working from home full time. As much I love driving a taxi, I don't want to keep doing that forever. The money is alright, but the hours are long, and I aspire to have more time freedom as well as more income. I have the plan to make this happen. The business I am beginning is selling internet related marketing services to local area businesses. Pretty cut and dried.

The objective is to make contact with these local business owners, give them suggestions for growing their business, and make myself available if they should desire they'd like to hire me to do this for them.

Unfortunately, I am not hugely comfortable meeting with and speaking to these people in order to get their business. Now, since I meet strangers all day long while driving a taxi, you'd think there wouldn't be a problem. I know the problem. When driving a taxi, the customer knows they're spending money just getting into the car. But when I go to somebody else's business, I now need to convince them that I am the person that they need, and to get them to give me a check for $1500 (plus $500 a month).

If I chicken out and fail to make contact with people, I will continue to be stuck driving in a job that doesn't pay as much as I want it to.

If I ignore my fears, I will make more money, enough to quit driving. To spend more time at home. To travel. To pay off my debts.

I commit to conquering my fear. But I need to know of hints, tips, and secrets to aid me in this journey. Do you know of anything that can help me? If so, I'd love to hear from you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @terencestamp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have been involved in online marketing but never did the local marketing you are speaking of. I've heard it gets easier with time. One thing you can try is selling smaller, cheaper services like a one off promotion. It is much easier to land a big sale with someone who has bought even a low value service from you in the past. Hope this helps!

Congratulations @terencestamp! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!