5-minute freewrite day 929 prompt: spirit animal

This post is in response to the daily freewrite prompt by @mariannewest. If you've never tried a freewrite, you can learn all about it here.

I had to look up Spirit Animal on the internet to find out for sure what it is. Sure enough, as I suspected, it has to do with Native American religion, as well as Pagan and Wiccan religions. It's not something I've ever given much thought to, since I'm not involved in any of those religions who concern themselves with spirit animals. So the first thing that came to my mind was actually a song the Sons of the Pioneers used to sing, "Ghost Riders in the Sky." A ghost rider on a ghost horse chasing a herd of ghost cattle sounds like a whole lot of spirit animals to me! My dad really enjoyed the Sons of the Pioneers. He owned 3 or 4 of their records, and I remember hearing them often while I was growing up. Now my son enjoys bluegrass music and he, too, appreciates that singing group. I like the oldtime country music much better than current country-western music. Now they just sing about falling in love, falling out of love, sleeping around, and getting drunk. "Tumbling Tumbleweeds", "Empty Saddles", and "Don't Fence Me In" had more substance to them than that!

Sort:  

I also googled spirit animal and found a test that I took my spirit animal is a turtle. lol. Yes, the old country music is like the 60's rock music they have both went downhill. I do not think they can improve on greatness.

Yep, you nailed it!