You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am the Word: Reflections in Recognition(Chapter 3)

in #spirituality6 years ago

Thanks for the great comment! You're the only one! haha. Take that last statement as deeply as you like ;)

So, would you say you reside as beingness/awareness all the time?

I'm admittedly new to these teachings, I only started on this path a few years ago, and where I started was somewhat odd with psychadelics. It led me down a path that worked really well for me because it started in science: How did this happen, what about psychadelics unlocks our potential? That led me many places before I ran into the direct path put forth by guys like Adya and Spira, which I still get a lot out of. I would spend more time with their work, but I kind of just apply the teachings to my daily life now as best I can.

The reason I'm so attracted to this series is that I feel like I've already experienced it during a trip. I reached a level where like you said, there was nothing to fix. The reason that was so was because my perception of everything changed. I became aware of everything on a whole new level and before I had even studied anything spiritual I had an experience that was indefinable. At one point my friend asked me what it was like and all I could say was "Everything just is."

So on this I Am the Word stuff: what I really think is happening is that we are aligning our manifestation completely with that beingness/awareness, allowing it to flow through and guide our lives. Kind of like, we aren't this body/mind, but we have the opportunity to know and understand it, like what kind of beast am I.

This is hard to talk about as you know, but I like to think of it like this: There is the Word, the primordial sound AUM or Om, and we are all that at our core, but we fight it because we think we are separate. When we surrender that vibration is allowed to flow through us, we are receivers of that vibration, and it expresses through each of us uniquely.

So these claims in the books bring us back into alignment/resonance with what we truly are by the simple claiming of that. The direct method does this too I think, but it does it in stages instead, like realizing we are not what we thought, realizing we are that pregnant void of infinite potential/awareness/whatever, then once that is realized how do we bring that into the world, how do we sing our song and dance our dance as who and what we truly are. I think that is the biggest hurdle, being ourselves despite outer circumstance, where nothing phases us because we are at the highest vibration possible, the strongest vibration always wins.

Sorry for dragging on but I really like the analogy of enlightenment being contagious because it is a higher vibration. Like we are all giving our vibration to the world, but most of us, at least in the past, had a very low vibration, so our affect on the world was miniscule. In raising our vibration we become a powerful influence on those things and beings in our perception because we raise their vibration in our own experience. That helps me realize the importance of being near enlightened people and I think that's why teachers like Adya, Mooji, etc say that the words are secondary to the presence.

I'd love to hear what you think on things, since that is all we can share over the web: thoughts. Always going to be secondary and slightly removed but I still enjoy talking and getting other people's perspectives. Thanks for commenting on all of these, I appreciate the discussion

Sort:  

Hey Jake, yeah it would be lovely to see a few more folk taking an interest in these posts for sure.

For me, it feels like the illusory obstacle to ones true nature is nothing more than an idea or stream of thoughts which becomes identified with (somehow). It is a case of misidentification. I findmyself caught in these streams very often, but I would say their subtlety is less convincing.
As an example, I notice many behavioural aspects about this Deon character that I used to want to change, actions that I would berate. Now they are part of the expression of this character, they may or may not change, life will decide. I am happy to be the vehicle of life, and to begin to enjoy the unique expression.
A nice by-product is less guilt and judgement and an ease of being - even when there is not an ease in the charater, which sounds contradictory but life expresses exactly as it was intended.
I do think there is a resonance and it is beautiful to be in the presence of a loving environment and in that resepct we are like moths to the flame, again life directs this impulse.
I don't see the direct path as a process of stages. The investigation, for me, is seeing what we are not. As ACIM says 'Removing the obstacles to the awareness of Love presence.'
We need bring nothing into the world, we are already singing our song and dancing our dance, nothing need be different. Every aspect of life is divine, as indeed is every expression. Only thinking labels it otherwise.
The mind (thought stream) loves idea of strongest/highest, attaining through effort, but nothing is absent right now. The seeking creates the journey to.
Being is ever-present now. Its kinda lovely and kinda crazy too.
If any of this makes sense :) ???

Ya, you're making sense to me. especially:

an idea or stream of thoughts which becomes identified with

I mean, that's the whole thing right there, and it seems so simple, like "I could stop identifing with thoughts if I wanted to," then I just keep doing it anyways... haha, getting much better though

I guess it confuses me from an intellectual standpoint how things change once we stop attaching to those thoughts and beliefs, which is exactly the point I think.

The mind (thought stream) loves idea of strongest/highest, attaining through effort, but nothing is absent right now.

Well said, nothing is absent, so I guess my question is how to pose this to others in a way that they can understand. How to explain it in experiential terms in a clear way. Because if you tell that to someone on the streets they'll start thinking of all the things that aren't "right" or isn't here yet. It's like we don't know how to solve things without thinking... Like, years ago I'd have asked you: if we are all enlightened, why don't we realize it? and if it's because of attachment to thoughts, what does that attachment look like and how can we be still enough to let go of them, or how can we understand what we are doing wrong and see our misperceptions.

I think these books are good because they don't make sense in normal ways, yet they do. Like in making a claim we are "doing" something, but we don't know exactly what because the end state that we are claiming (being the Word) is not an experience we are familiar with.

I think that's what draws me to these books, they seem like something people can do(read) that will pacify the wandering mind. If I can put my mind on "I am word through my being. Word I am Word." I have no true intellectual understanding of the terms Word and being, so the mind has something it can't grasp but it can interact with. Does that make sense? Basically a loop[hole where we can use the mind while still allowing those obstacles to fall away. Sorry if I got overly complicated in my explanation before, it was unnecessary.

Removing the obstacles to the awareness of Love presence.'

I think Adya steals some zen teachers line of spiritual teachings being thorns to remove other thorns.

Great comment, you're keeping me in line with how I talk about things, I don't want to stray to far from the direct teaching stuff. Would you say that your perception of life has changed since the realizations you've had?

I would say that it is very subtle and yet, paradoxically, highly significant. From my perspective the Deon character is still characteristically Deon. The behaviours and adversions still play out, but here's the thing, it's absolutely fine - all of it.
Nothing is at stake, and that's not an intellectual statement, it is truly felt viserally. The release of the need to 'personally improve or alter' has opened an avenue of deep contentment that accepts as an inherent way of being, strangely even when there is a flash of resistance. As weird as that may sound - resistance is accepted work that one out!.
I feel deeply blessed to be here and to experience this life, beyond that I don't know much. But I think the sharing of these explorations into existence is a deeply loving endeavour, and I think you are doing a really fine job - so big thanks.

Thanks for this response, really solid stuff, the whole everything is fine really helps stop the straining to achieve