Problem Children

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

(Credit: Google Images)
People make more problems for themselves than there are problems to be made.

What I'm saying with this statement is, most problems live only in our mind.
(Credit: Google Images)

We stoke the flames of controversy by propping up expectations in our minds, whether they are fantasy or fact is not important, the neural network is activated and sustained to one end; fulfilling one's expectation.

This can be both positive and negative for a person depending on their investment in exacting their expectations from the outside world. (Outside of their brain) (Credit: Google Images)

When expectations are not met we trigger, within and/or without, a reaction in ourselves. This may stay safe in the seemingly-silent brain chatter, or, may burst out of one's mouth. If left unchecked these can lead to negative interactions, such as, road rage- we expect people to drive fast, and if they don't, get out of the way.

Positive aspects of this would be when someone set's a goal for themselves, an expectation of "success," working towards that goal, taking success and failure both as lessons for learning.
(Credit: Google Images)

It is when these expectations are foisted upon others, especially without them knowing or wanting it, we find more problems than there are to have.

For example, I expect a certain amount of regular affection from my wife. You know what I'm talking about guys! Ladies, ... you know what I'm talking about! When and if I don't receive the amount of affection I feel I deserve, affection I need, I become a little butt-hurt kid. Literally butt-hurt from localized pressure in my giblets, makes me angry, uncomfortable and aggressive. I call it being "Horngry!"

Normally, I'm an easy going fella.

I understand these are unrealistic expectations because she, my wife, is a beautifully independent woman who doesn't deserve to have my expectations foisted upon her.

But, ... that doesn't stop my brain from collecting sensory stimulus data from my corporal body, sew it all together in to my consciousness stream, whereby I become aware of my need in present tense, automatically moving towards their resolution. I have become aware of it, and, even still the process looms and assumes.

Luckily, for my wife anyway, I am aware of it and can extinguish the flames of unfulfilled expectation with a few cycles through my logic circuit, well mostly.

This post is titled "Problem Children" because kids are almost all Id, almost all ego, almost all mine mine 'minded.' Kids misconstrue their wants with their needs, which can be seen when telling a two-year old they can't have something they want. This is an appropriate and necessary developmental stage for all people. It is when we do not grow out of it, it becomes a problem for ourselves and others.

The problem lies in when Children never grow up, and, we find ourselves living among grown up babies searching for their Babas(bottles); only now, all grown up, their bottles are Cars, Cash, and Quickies, ... etc.

(Credit: Google Images)
The process can be tapped and monitored. It is a conscious act, however, the baby mentality disallows one from truly tapping into the stream. One must be aware their conscious mind has been running on auto-pilot before one can truly take the stick and fly away from drama. Is this not incessantly clear in our society?

Those who are reading this and feel any negativity please connect to your expectations and see which one's are begging for your attention. I, because this is the internet, and I am a complete stranger, should not have any expectations because I am a ghost in the night here, and, to become affected by my words one must allow them inside.

Bringing me finally to my point. We allow stress into our lives by setting unrealistic expectations, on large and small scales, and, based on their composition experience stress as a result of their implementation. (Credit: Google Images)

(Credit: Google Images)
We create problems where none exist because we have a specific view of how reality should operate. When things don't go to plan people feel stress. When people feel stress they look for outlets, consciously and unconsciously. Most peeps likely don't spend the requisite time internally, quieting that function, mastering that function, fleshing out their roles in the stress, their roles in mismanaged expectations.

When an expectation is not met, who's fault is it?
Who construct expectations in our life?
Do we have any control over their constructions and implementation?
Does the culture we subscribe to foist expectations unto us?
Does the culture we subscribe force us to live up to them?

Go in peace and know I'm thinking about you.

justg

Sort:  

Hey man! This is a great post! What do you mean when you said, "spend the requisite time internally"?

Thanks Dude! We can talk about it tonight if you want?

Hahaha, No man. Of course we'll talk tonight but, this is what Steemit is for. We discuss stuff on here and if people like it they upvote.

Oh I see... lol

Ya, so like always I'm talking about meditating. Spending time internally is basically saying being quiet and listening to what your brain/body is saying.

Figured that was what it was...

Do see what I did? I upvoted your comments...