You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Scientific Perspective on the Spiritual Shift

in #spirituality6 years ago

I feel the same way as you used to feel. So I was hoping to read a piece written for people who feel as you used to feel, not another low-information piece for the already converted.
"I had written off previous spiritual experiences as phenomena of the brain. I had heard people talking about 2012 as a time when a great spiritual awakening was going to happen. And I watched it roll by and nothing seemed to change. I wasn’t surprised. Back then, I was convinced Earth was going to hell in a hand basket and no magical day was going to change that."
Nothing in what you wrote has changed my view on it.
You had a brain phenomenon, and now you say that we're all in a magical era.

What would you have said back then, if someone had said to you then, what you are saying now?

"Oh; you had a brain phenomenon" or "Wow! You enlightened me"

This isn't criticism. Well, I guess it is in the sense of constructive criticism. I'm giving you an outside view in the hope that you can revise your message and make it more meaningful to people who havent had your brain phenomenon.

What I know about the brain, is that the brain has mechanisms for assigning validity to any message it chooses. That's why people can believe in Christianity, flying saucers, Trump's biggest inauguration ever, or that they really are not paralyzed (when they are).

So given that the brain can be hijacked, how do you know that yours isn't being hijacked now?

That's what I was hoping for... a scientist's perspective on what you went through. Instead, we have a religious convert's perspective. So I might as just well read a religious convert's posts. To any random religion.