Gurugita 025: Deepaka rejects the boons offered by Lord Shiva.

in #spirituality6 years ago

Gurugita 025: Deepaka rejects the boons offered by Lord Shiva.

Guru Vedadharma was scornful of Deepaka at all times. This was despite the fact that Deepaka was attending to his every need night and day without complaining. To add to this, He would call the neighbors and complain of Deepaka’s inefficiency in attending to His needs. He would also complain that Deepaka disliked him and that he was being ill-treated. Even these complaints from his Guru did not deter Deepaka in offering his services with full faith and love!

Even if Deepaka would step out of the hut for a minute, Guru would scold him for his negligence. He believed that Deepaka was going out only to avoid Him. There was not one moment when He would not torture Deepaka. Yet he would constantly complain that Deepaka was putting him through torture.

The more his Guru yelled at him, the more Deepaka’s love towards his Guru intensified. He joyfully offered services unmindful of the fact that his Guru was finding faults in him. With this, the disciple’s fame was on the rise. It spread in all directions. Everywhere people praised this disciple who unhesitatingly served his Guru who was ridden with terrible leprosy.

The news of this great disciple reached the ears of Lord Kashi Vishwanatha, who was within the temple. Desirous of meeting this boy, the Lord came out of the Shiva-linga, stood in front of Guru Vedadharma’s hut and called out lovingly, “Deepaka”. Deepaka and came out of his hut and said, “O dear Lord Shiva, please accept my obeisance. My Guru is resting at this moment, hence I request you to not speak loudly. He could get disturbed. Please wait for him silently”.

Hearing this the Supreme Lord Shiva was pleased. He admired Deepaka’s devotion towards his Guru and said, “Deepaka, I am touched by your Guru bhakti. Seek any boon and I shall fulfill it.”

Deepaka said, “Lord Shiva, I do not need any boons. I am grateful for your consideration. I never go against my Guru’s decisions. At this moment, my Guru is sleeping. You have to wait till He wakes up. I shall then consult Him and decide what should be sought as a boon. Whatever He says I will abide by.”

Shiva was furious. “What impudence! You have the guts to reject the boons being offered by Me, the Supreme Lord. Nevertheless, I am giving you yet another chance. Do you seek any boon or not?”

Deepaka said, “O Lord please do not get angry. Under any circumstances, I will only abide by what my Guru seeks. I will not perform any act on my own. Even if you get angry, I will be undeterred in my stand”.

Shiva retorted, “You have rejected my boons. You will pay heavily for this mistake” - saying so Shiva left the place and went directly to Srihari.

Sort:  

Om sri Sadgurubhyo Namaha 🌺🌺🙏🏻🌼🌼

Om Sree Sadgurubhyom Namaha !!

Om Sree Sadgurubhyo Namaha 🙏🏻