Get Bored and See What Happens

in #spirituality6 years ago

A strange thing can happen when you take your brain out of the stream of constant stimulation. Think about it, when was the last time you went 20 minutes without something begging for your attention? Driving doesn't count. Showering doesn't count, even if you do take 20 minute showers. I'm talking about moments of real stillness. Your brain will respond to your environment. Every once in a while (ideally everyday) you need to create an environment that let's your brain wander.

I am not telling you to become a person that sits around complaining that they have nothing to do. If you're reading this, then you're likely the kind of person who likes to fill gaps with activity. That's not a bad thing. We call that efficient time management. But what if some of those gaps could be used in more valuable ways?

I won't presume to know what your inner voice will sound like, but trying to listen to mine has been a deeply enriching exercise. It's also painful sometimes. I still have a lot of unhealed shame messages. So when I allow the silence to creep in, I am often filled with sadness. It's important to remember that the sadness is there whether I let myself feel it or not. Ignoring feelings has consequences that I would rather not encounter. It is time well spent, but be prepared for some emotions to rise.

Carve out the time to be still. Disengage from your screens. Stop your body from moving. Sit or lay in a place where not much of any interest is happening in front of you. Be with yourself.

Then just listen. Listen and respond.

Until next time, be blessed.

Sam

Image Source: Path
Recent Posts:
6 Questions to Leverage Your Community and Learn More About Yourself
Your Brain Creates Shitty First Drafts of Reality
How to Know if Your Job is Killing You
You Need Your Tribe to Expand Your Perspective
Your Screen Time is Ruining Your Kids' Playtime
We Are More Similar Than Different


Clink here: Steem Follower to get votes and find great content to upvote.
Clink here:
Steem Engine / https://steemengine.net/join?r=1350
to get followers and find great accounts to follow.

Mannabase is a cyrpto approach to Universal Basic Income.
Sign up now for your FREE weekly distributions of Manna
Full disclosure: it is a referral link.

Sort:  

I don't really like to let my mind wander, or rather I just don't pay attention to it. I just let go. There seems to be a lot of built up tension in my body that corresponds to those negative messages I send myself subconsciously, so I can find them in my body and release them. It gives my mind a task while also preventing me from getting lost in my thoughts. I notice tons of facial tension that distorts my view of the world, once I release it there is more clarity and my attention can broaden from the lack of focus(tension)

Carve out the time to be still. Disengage from your screens. Stop your body from moving. Sit or lay in a place where not much of any interest is happening in front of you. Be with yourself.

I like all of this, one thing I like to work on is performing this exercise anywhere, a great place to start is walking in nature, paradoxically, the stillness is available despite the movement.

Great article as always

Thanks for your comment. This is something I am still exploring and I really value your insight. Like you point out, I have noticed that sometimes the best approach is to circumvent our thoughts when they are stuck in a negative loop. I have a pretty hard time with embodiment practices, so I like this reminder to focus on where I feel the tension.

Nature walks are always good! Living in the city, that is a little harder to achieve.

Ya, really as long as you practice consistently you will get more and more clarity, at least that's what I've noticed. Sometimes it's frustrating because I'll have moments of really beautiful clarity and understanding, then fall back into thoughts and worries about daily life, but it's definitely gotten easier for me. Seems like you are doing great, I still wonder how I'm doing most days but

"Courage and self-confidence are two beacons which must never be extinguished on the path to higher knowledge."
-Rudolph Steiner

Nature walks are always good! Living in the city, that is a little harder to achieve.

I bet, I'm spoiled living in MT, I've got the mountains 10 minutes away and a huge trail somewhat near my house. Perks of small mountain towns. Do you have any good parks nearby where you live?

I bet, I'm spoiled living in MT, I've got the mountains 10 minutes away and a huge trail somewhat near my house. Perks of small mountain towns. Do you have any good parks nearby where you live?

I'm drooling. That sounds splendid! We don't have any parks within easy walking distance, which is a big bummer. Detroit Belle Isle park is spectacular, but it is a 10 minute drive. We try to go often, but getting five kids in and out of car is a good deal of work. Haha.

I really like your point about consistency though. I think building up a ritual and routine really can unlock something. And that's an awesome quote!

I bet that's a challenge! Ya, consistency in all things helps us build up, I need more consistency in working out and projects. Shoulld be easy this summer

What will change this summer? I'm hoping to get some patterns going, but my work is fairly unpredictable. Makes it hard to plan.

I'm moving to 30 hr weeks, M-W instead of flat out quitting, so I will have way more time

Yes! I know! I let my kids get bored sometimes because I see much more imagination and creativity out of them when I do. They so often just jump to tablet time -- don't we all? So I limit that and put more expectation on the kids to get creative. My mom let us go bored all the time when we were kids and I'm telling you, it was the best thing she did. We had to really come up with ways to keep busy. Granted, I think things were different back then. We could run around the neighborhood with the other kids, we had a huge back yard that backed into a vacant land, a park next door, a school up the street. So there was more to work with. But still....I kind of wish my kids went outside more. Honestly, I will drag them by the hair and be like, "We're going outside! Get your shoes on!" if I have to.

Haha! I can totally relate. We have some forced outdoor times too. We don't really live in the best environment for unsupervised outdoor planning (outside of the backyard). And my kids are still pretty young (all under six). I hope they get a taste of that childhood innovation and adventure.

Excellent. This is a huge bit of my philosophy on education for children as well. Boredom is golden. Not only do we get to feel the things we need to feel, we also get to discover the things we really want to be and do. In those spots of emptiness, we remember what we really love. Kids naturally do this when they aren't scheduled all day every day. Grown ups often call it laziness. Thanks for sharing.

Love it! Yes, this definitely applies to kids too. It has been a bit of an uphill battle with my five kids. They live in an over-stimulating world. Still, it is exciting to see what they come up with when given the space and freedom. Thanks for stopping by and bringing up that great point.

The world is definitely over stimulating. We are now at the point of scheduling almost nothing, and that helps. It's so good for them to connect with what they really want.

Well good for you, because that is not always easy to do! We are in some activities, but try to minimize it, or to at least group them. Our kids are close enough in age that they can often do the same thing at the same time.

Well, it's made easier for us because we live in the jungle. Not much going in these parts. There's a tourist town where a couple things are happening, but it's an hour drive plus a boat ride or a two hour drive. Just not worth it.

Haha, yeah I imagine that would make it a little easier! Almost feels like cheating ;P
Where is this jungle that you live in? And I'm with you on the trek not being worth it.

It does feel like cheating sometimes. We live in Belize in a little village called Monkey River Town. We've been here almost 3 years but are thinking of moving to a slightly larger and less remote village called Hopkins.