What I do to unwind! Splinterlands API docs

in #splinterlands4 years ago (edited)

chrisriedieic5Tq8YMkunsplash.jpg
Photo by Chris Ried on Unsplash

Every now and then, I need to unwind and let my brain work on something other than my usual dev work. It's at these times I find myself working on...more dev work.

The thing is, this extra dev work ends up being a different type of dev work. When I look at the same codebase for too long I find myself losing morale and motivation.

So when this happens I tend to find myself a new project to work on. One that is not too much work but may be useful to myself or others down the track.

It's this "mood" that brought us "I Love Steempeak" and "I Love Peakd"

Now it has also brought us Unofficial Splinterlands API docs

I have been wanting to make a "market-maker" type bot for Splinterlands for a while but never got around to it.

I found that there is no documentation around the Splinterlands API. Although, there is another unofficial repository here. Although I found it heard to read and it uses old endpoints that may disappear at some point.

So, I decided to document it myself using the Insomnia application, as it allows quick and easy testing or data retrieval. In addition to the core application, I used the insomnia-documenter package to generate a nice looking website to display all of the endpoint.

What comes next?

Currently, the site only shows the endpoints and some example parameters for each. I will now need to add example responses and descriptions to each method to better describe the API.

Want to help?

Everyone is free to help with cleaning up the docs and adding any missing endpoints, I even invite the official Splinterlands dev (@yabapmatt) to assist where possible.

GitHub repository: https://github.com/selabie68/splinterlands-api-unofficial

Donate

Bitcoin: 17gqqZZnr57maB3Ze5UnosBo9mtU1RTrD5

Bitcoin Cash: qpu8736yqqhkfd5gsyph6a0wy0e4r83ap50tdsknv2

ETH: 0x927ad35fDc46Dc727fccd1E10A0ebe70a57BAA7D

Sort:  

Thank you for providing a great starting point for a deeper dive into the Splinterlands API