Share your battle: Pelacor Arbalest

Pelacor Arbalest is a squishy 6 mana ranged Double Dippin DPS that gets RNG hardier against melee / ranged attacks at level 5 with Flying. It obviously synergizes well with Sloan and is a great choice in the Light Splinter but is also vulnerable to Opportunity and Sneak. Favorable Rulesets include Equalizer, Aim True, and [Reverse Speed]( since it's a fairly slow unit.

Here's a Tournament battle where I got schooled by the Arbalest because I didn't put enough Sustain into my team as well as rock-paper-scissors mispositioning; no need to keep Sneak fodder against a Burn-The-Front-Guy Lineup).

image.png

Can you guess what's gonna happen based on these initial conditions?

I don't have enough burn the front guy damage to take out the Chaos Knight and end up snowballing into oblivion after my Uriel eats dirt; their Crystalsmith keeps the Chaos Knight alive while the Arbalest crossbows my creatures into little pieces. Things might have gone better if I'd positioned my Sneak units to stay alive longer and take out their heal + arbalest. But that's part of the rock paper scissors fun of Splinterlands, amirite?

For the full battle, see

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sm_rGqprPYawmsa6QzBI7Aq&ref=anonymouslee

If you have enough mana and can ensure that it'll survive a few rounds (i.e., with a taunty Shieldbearer or in Equalizer / Fog Rulesets / etc), the Arbalest is a solid offensive unit! Just remember to combine it with speed manipulation or find ways to help its double hits land.