Splinterlands Weekly Battle Challenge with GOBLIN PSYCHIC

image.png
Thumbnail for the weekly challenge provided by @splinterlands

The Goblin Psychic is featured during this week's battle challenge from @splinterlands

It's a common, Magic Attack, Earth Monster from the Chaos Legion set. I only have regular foils of this one so far, and have it at level 3. Which looks like this.

image.png

It stars with the Tank Heal ability. At level 4 it gets the Affliction ability, so I definitely do have to level mine up to get that. It gets Silence at level 7 and Dispel at level 10. That makes it a great card. It'll be a while still before my summoners are at the level to use it at those levels.

The battle I want to share this week is with Delwyn Dragonscale against Scarred Llama Mage. Here's a screenshot of the lineup for the battle I'm sharing.

image.png

Here is the link to the battle: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_f5ee26ef9e5cf7e9ace6ce1c2ec744fa&ref=athunderstruck

In this battle only Earth and Dragon could be used with a 27 Mana Cap. There was only one ruleset in this one:

  • Broken Arrows: Ranged attack Monsters may not be used in battles

Team Setup

Only Earth and Dragon Splinters could be played during this battle. On the battle found screen I saw in my opponents' recent battles that they enjoy using Llama + Kron combo. With no Ranged Attack Monsters allowed, I assumed it highly likely they'd go for this setup. So I decided to make a team that would be able to defeat that combo.

For that to work I required a good amount of damage and sustain. I decided to use Delwyn Dragonscale for the +1 to all Magic Attack Monsters. I didn't end up using any Dragons though, so Obisidian would've been good too and I think I had just levelled her to 3, but I'm not sure if I did that already before this battle took place.

I placed Lord Arianthus in the first position, with Shield and Void it could tank well. With Magic Reflect at level 2 it would help me deal more damage to the Kron that I was expecting to see. For the sustain I brought Wood Nymph and Goblin Psychic in the backline with Tank Heal to keep healing my Lord Arianthus. On top of that their Magic Attacks are boosted. I brought Khimer Princess for low mana, and in case my Lord Arianthus would perish, I placed her in the second position to take one more hit while the rest of my team could do damage. At the end of my backline I placed Regal Peryton with high speed and Flying in case my opponent would bring monsters with Sneak. I placed the Furious Chicken at the last spot so it could take one Sneak Attack if that were the case before they'd try to attack the Regal Peryton.

Strategy Successful?

Yes my strategy was a great succes! I predicted correctly that my opponent was going to use the Llama + Kron combo. They started with a Unicorn Mustang with Void, so it took me 3 rounds to kill that one. They didn't have Tank Heal, otherwise it would've taken way longer to take it down. Meanwhile the Wood Nymph and Goblin Psychic kept my Lord Arianthus alive.

After the Unicorn Mustang went down, it became a walk in the park to win this fight.The Last Stand Kron heals for 6 health per turn, but all my Monsters together dealt 9 damage per turn and an additional 2 damage from Lord Arianthus' Magic Reflect. So a few turns later the Kron went down.

Do I like the Goblin Psychic?

Yeah it's a quite fun card to use. Right now I prefer using Wood Nymph if I'm only bringing one of the two, because of her higher speed and lower mana cost. But I see some good potential with the Goblin Psychic and I'm looking forward to level it up so it gets the Affliction ability. It'll be great to use as the main healer for Earth in the Modern format. With its speed being 1, it seems like a perfect fit in the Reverse Speed ruleset.

Conclusion

I properly predicted that my opponent would use a Llama + Kron combo and built an effective team against that with a great tank and two healers to sustain my tank's life. The increased Magic Attack damage from Delwyn Dragonscale helped me to take down my opponents monsters really fast. Obsidian Summoner would've been a great pick too as I didn't use Dragon Monsters, but I don't remember if I levelled her to 3 already before that fight. Which is the minimum needed to bring Lord Arianthus at level 2 for the Magic Reflect.

Thanks for reading my weekly battle challenge.

If you haven't signed up for Splinterlands yet and want to check it out, you can do so with my referral link at: https://splinterlands.com?ref=athunderstruck