Sort:  

Great analysis and comparison.
I never have time for more than 3 min games so Splinterlands is great for me.
I'm lucky if I can get even 3 minutes without being interrupted by someone.

Yeah... I get that feeling too... so, Splinterlands is the perfect match for my type of gaming when I don't have the time to spare for a half hour or so!

Holy crap!
This is what I've been looking for! This is an excellent comparison!
I never play MTG but have a ton of friends who did/do.
I'm excited for the potential of Splinterlands because we seem to be doing a lot of things right in regards to 'bringing battle card games to the future'. I know it's over-used and literally EVERYTHING uses it... but we ARE kinda 'revolutionary'. 😎
Thanks again for taking the time to create this!
😍@carrieallen


Woohoo!

You have been manually curated by the @splinterlands / @steemmonsters team!

Thank you for SHARING your Splinterlands content with the world! The more the merrier!

Enjoy your juicy upvote and keep creating excellent Splinterlands content!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it! The best thing that you guys are doing are keeping the game balanced for players of all levels and investments... plus, not sinking the economy of the game as well! It's something that too many blockchain based games (and projects in general...) have done... shoot themselves by printing too much "magical internet money" and killing the sustainability aspect of the economy!

Beautiful comparison and analysis! It really spells out the pros and cons.

I think it’s become more and more prevalent for players to want a mobile gaming experience that allows for quick 5 minute sessions. It’s challenging to squeeze in up to a 30 minute undisturbed break to play a single session of the typical card game.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! Yes, mobile gaming isn't really suited to hardcore gaming... partly because the device needs to actually function as a communication device as well! I prefer these low demand games for the phone on the go... and then do real gaming at home!

Nice review @bengy, being a Magic player since 1994 I have seen all of it.

Splinterlands is much simpler, and has the potential to gain more of a market due to this.

I don't play MtG these days, but do miss it. It's best played with the physical cards with people you know well.

Thanks... I find that these involved card battlers (MtG) are really much better in person as well... there is something about the experience that isn't just about the game... but the getting together of friends and the copious amounts of crap food and beer to go with it!

I heard Riot is also working on a car battler to be launched this year(?).

I heard that as well! I hope they launch with a blockchain market or something like that... I used to love LoL, but then lost patience with the community and in the end, found that my gaming schedule didn't leave time for a full hour game with no interruptions!

Great long post about the two games. You really did some effort here. That shall be rewarded!

MonsterCurationFlauwy.png

Thanks, it was fun to write! Thank you for the support!

jLCCs3ZQdiv.png Hi. Your post has been selected by @splinterzine!
It will be upvoted on by some friends and will be in the next edition of our newsletter. Congratulations on the great work.

Thank you for the feature and the support!

Excellent post. I have taken a quick look at the more "polished" games like "Magic The Gathering", and totally agree with you that @splinterlands is more "crisp" and "funky". Also, the concept of "gaming bursts" is likely more profound than most people realize. Take for example the Splinterlands TOURNAMENTS versus regular ranked play. There you can see the "time" issue at play. I mean, how many tournament matches have we all won or lost because the other person got a phone call while picking their team, or was stuck in traffic, etc? This is especially important for mobile. You make an excellent point in mentioning this. I think the mobile app will really take this game to the next level, and the aesthetics and "timing" elements of the game make will make it a MAJOR competitor once it hits the market. The future is looking bright. Now is the time to increase our experience and deck power so that when the mobile app is released we are "ahead of the game"...

Yeah, I keep folding out of tournaments because of this very reason... I start them (if I remember...), and then after a few matches the real-life comes knocking and I find myself unable to finish! They have really done a good job with this game... they haven't fallen into the pitfalls that have beset other blockchain based games...

A vote of support from me!
!Trdo
!Beer
!Deranged

Thank you for the support!

I only hope he stops soon!

This is an awesome comparison. I didn't know MTG had an online version. That's awesome, but I'll have to agree that being able to own your cards gives Splinterlands a huge leg up. Maybe MTG will, at some point, adopt a blockchain-based digital playing arena and tokenize the cards. Maybe?

Thanks... MtG has had a digital version for a while now... but it hasn't really caught on as much as you would have thought given the popularity of the physical card version. I suspect that MtG will have to start thinking down that route... or just be left behind.

Next comparison: Splinterlands vs Gods Unchained?
Would like to see two blockchain card games compared.

These two are much more interesting to compare as card battlers in general will probably have to start thinking about this model... I did play a bit of Gods Unchained... I didn't really like it so much, it is much more like Hearthstone and MtG in terms of depth, equipment and attention... which is why I didn't like it, I would prefer to play a better PC game if I had access to a laptop/desktop!

Also, the ETH chain (transaction fees and speed) is a bit of a drag on the GU model...

Very good point. As a long long time MTG player, I'd rather just play MTG. Granted I play paper, so having other digital card games is fun as well.

The cool thing about the ETH transactions is that at least you don't HAVE to claim all your cards. Like if you have a bunch of worthless jank, you don't need to spend the time claiming it. (IIRC they were working on a way or already implemented a way to claim all your cards in bulk.)

SBI.png

You have been supported by members of the SBI community that follow this new plan of action.

Thanks for being a part of this awesome community. Keep on doing what you are doing!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

!trdo

Congratulations @wesphilbin, you successfuly trended the post shared by @bengy!
@bengy will receive 2.87684663 TRDO & @wesphilbin will get 1.91789775 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 87.97%

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @wesphilbin.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @bengy, your post successfully recieved 2.87684663 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@wesphilbin earned : 1.91789775 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site