Splinterlands has me!

in #splinterlands2 years ago (edited)

I've been a skeptic of crypto and blockchain endeavors from the outset. My basis was an above-average understanding of economics and monetary history - and perhaps a bit too much grounded and traditional views of emerging technology. Although I still have a lot of doubts about the many aspects of the future of the crypto/digital space, I've finally been introduced to an endeavor that, for me, proves the exception to the rule - @splinterlands.

I have a number of friends who are bullish about crypto, some having arrived early enough to the Bitcoin party to reap big returns. Still, my concern was always with the arbitrary nature of crypto valuation. For me, the utility was always secondary (at best) as cryptocurrencies always struck me as the digital version of 'pump and dump' (of which some, if not most, are still very much examples of). With nothing proprietary, little viable purpose (none in most cases), I couldn't bring myself to "invest" in something where the value was based entirely on perception of worth and the necessity of the market to continue being propped up by hype.

I've always conceded that Bitcoin (and others) could still see tremendous growth. I also see that crypto can just as easily crash (and very much believe most of them will at some point, most never recovering). For me, to ask, "Why is Bitcoin worth $60,000?" and be told, "Because that's what people are willing to pay for it," didn't provide much reassurance. I'm the kind of guy who wanted to see a product or service, preferably something unique, revolutionary or brilliantly implemented. The current price of Apple or Coca Cola stock makes sense as it's a reflection of a going concern, a business model that is proven with an established cash flow and brand awareness. Even a small, local business for sale, be it a comic book store or a car dealership, has hard data that can be used to extrapolate a reasonable value that pretty much anyone can understand. But cryptocurrencies?? Not really. Not in most cases. But, again, @splinterlands changed the game for me by addressing these very concerns and traditional evaluations.

SPS could have been just another arbitrary token. But first and foremost, it has utility. That product/service I was bemoaning earlier? @splinterlands offers that in spades. I'm a bit of a gamer, though I have less time for that kind of thing with my current career (screenwriter). I still love games and have even created a few mobile apps in this space. So, I have some understanding of this type of entertainment from both sides. I love what they're doing and how they're doing it and, most importantly, they are delivering that "utility" that is a must for anything I consider investing in.

In fact, I'm so impressed, my initial investment was going to be a small piece of my portfolio, but I find myself slowly diverting more and more money into the SL world and realize I'm probably still not done. I find myself regularly looking at my other investments and wondering which would be better served liquidated and reallocated to @splinterlands. I'm very big on being pragmatic and diversified, but find an optimism has taken me when it comes to this game, business model and investment potential. I'm actually excited to be a part of this community and opportunity. I hope those of you involved in this with me make a fortune! :)

A shout out to my friend and early Hive adopter @blewitt who turned me on to @splinterlands. It took months and probably a dozen mentions, slowly planting seeds and piquing my interest, for me to finally knuckle down, do the research, and ultimately prove impressed with what the SL team has done and continues to do.

Peace and success, my friends!

Sort:  

Great to have you in the game, mate. A lot of these tokens are worthless, no doubt; but the utility of bitcoin is grounded in the disutility of fiat.
If money wasn't so broken, crypto wouldn't be so useful.

Thanks. Looking forward to getting more into the community and business of SL.

Yay for Splinterlands! Spend all the monies!

Love what they're doing. I have a small game company of my own and might reach out to SL about doing some kind of crossover promotion on my new thing - though I suspect they're crazy busy... :)

There is a lot of shit in the crypto world.
If you can find projects with real use case and utility like hive and splinterlands then stack as hard as you can because they are the ones that will last and grow.

I used to play a lot of Hearthstone and they're still going strong. These elements as aspects of SL certainly make me think they can be way bigger and better... and crazy lucrative!

Congratulations @chood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Glad to see you pop back on here as well.

All because of you, brother.

Your post has been manually curated by @monster-curator Team!

Get instant cashback for every cards purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket shares 60% of the revenue generated, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

Monster-Curator-Monster-Market.png