Should Players be Compensated For Maintenance?

image.png

The new maintenance bug is throwing the whole Splinterlands community for a loop. As far as details on the maintenance you can check out my post explaining that here https://peakd.com/hive-13323/@cluessprodigy/splinterlands-maintenance-update. This post is more of an editorial piece. The play to earn model of Splinterlands makes this issue much more complex. With tens of thousands of dollars being circulated through the market everyday the players are loosing a lot of potential earnings in DEC. On top of the the season was set to end today. The splinterlands team decided to move the seasons end to tomorrow which is a decision that I personally agree with. One things that I am really curious about is the situation with renting cards. Almost everyone has been renting power to move up in the ranks in preparation of the new season. With one whole day gone many people including myself are going to loose access to their power. I personally spent half my DEC balance on renting cards and now I am just short a day?

Final thoughts.

This maintenance is leaving me with a bunch of questions but at the end of the day this is bound to happen with the launch of a new game. I am not saying that the Splinterlands team should pay us for this issue as it isn't their fault but I am definitely curious on how they are going to deal with the implications that this is causing for the whole community. Leave your thoughts on the situation in the comments because I really want to know how others feel about this situation.