Pay 2 win? nah... Powerful 1200$ vs my modest 175$ team.

in #splinterlands2 years ago

llama-kron death.png
Hello Splinterlands community, summoners old and new. I'm DC3NTR4LZD.

Splinterlands has some very powerful and expensive cards.

The scarred llama costs 800$ and Kron goes for 400$ as of Nov 21st, 2021. This particular combo has garnered quite a reputation, and just a whisper of their names instills a chilling tingle of fear down any summoner that stands against them. The dreaded LLama-Kron death squad.


LLama-Kron.png

This is a 1200$ combo.


Whenever these two stand together, the odds of being pulverized are stacked certainly against the lesser team. So considering the might and price tag that this team presents, you would come to think this is somewhat a pay-to-win situation.

But I'm here as a witness, that with strategy, conviction, and some luck as well, the set of cards that you play can indeed defeat this mighty pair of foes.

In this particular battle, I witnessed that my opponent had already played this combo on some of his previous ones, so there was a great chance of them being summoned to destroy me as well.

I decided to stand my ground with a modest team, magically enhanced with Delwyn Dragonscale, with Unicorn Mustang and his void as my tank to absorb magic damage, Mushroom Seer with silence to diminish Kron's power, some backup magic and healing with the Wood Nymph, and last but not least, my favorite pet, my trusty Furious Chicken.


LLama-Kron killers 2.png

This is my 175$ team.


This battle was intense, the Stone Golem went down first, as he was pretty much just filler, and the real battle test began when Kron activated with the Last Stand. Fully pumped, he's got some pretty menacing stats, but even with all his power and healing, he could not bring down my modest and solid team. He drained energy by 2 points each round and bit the dust in round nine. An amazing TKO and a sweet victory for the underdogs!

https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_29da698f7c2b9f1ce7aa0d4058a053f6

So this is why Splinterlands is quite an interesting game. You can go all in and buy some crazy expensive cards and think you are gonna destroy and scorch every other team, but then one day you face a modestly priced team who brings upon your demise. It must be somewhat a humbling experience.

Peace, DC3LZD

Splinterlands is an awesome game and you can come join and be a part of the community while also helping out players like myself, it's of no cost to you and I will be eternally grateful.
https://splinterlands.com?ref=dc3ntr4lzd