Weekly Battle Challenge : Crypt Beetle

in #splinterlands2 years ago

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo5EV9c1ZBbkTXscehrWU8M9v99pyWGnuQNePFNA9V2keVbsx3BV9X1j6iVDKd4LPv3QXLfqGSZ7ZdH7FNcgky7H3WWyABuigDC.png

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPpLfYZZXRUESzWhGz37oFcENUmg7LDgi2hWX8jArtLsKNVLLSrZZyXJjWzsdJcpGpuqVpP8JcMSd7JtySAGYTQMcX6neaZZkjEbgYcxzDre.png

Weekly Battle Challenge : Crypt Beetle


Introduction


Hello guys welcome to my blog. This week's battle challenge theme is Crypt Beetle. Crypt Beetle is a Common Death card in the Chaos Legion set. In case you wanna read the Lore Click Here. I play this card at level 1 and the stats for Level 1 are as follows :

  • Mana Cost - 3

  • Health - 2

  • Speed - 1

  • Armor - 1

  • Damage - 1 Melee Damage

  • Ability - Shield(It negates 1 melee or archery damage)

Stats at other levels are follows :

chrome_screenshot_1651164269519.png


Current Market Stats

chrome_screenshot_1651164456851.png

As of writing Price/BCX vary from $0.081 to $0.089. This card is present in Ghost/Starter cards so once Ghost cards stop giving rewards I expect this card's value to increase a bit but not that much as it's a common card. If you wanna check yourself here's the in-game Market Link.

Comparison With Other Cards

  • First card that comes to mind is Onyx Sentinal which is a neutral 5 mana monster with 6 health Vs. Crypt Beetle on the other hand is a 3 mana cost Death Card. Both have a shield ability at level 1 but Onyx Sentinal gets 2 more abilities once leveled up. Purpose of the both card is somewhat similar. Crypt Beetle is generally used as an soft tank tho when paired with monsters that Demoralize ability it can be used as an tank. Onyx Sentinal on the other is a pure tank. Onyx Sentinal's per BCX price is nearly 5 times of Crypt Beetle.

  • Shield ability is pretty common at level 1. In Fire (🔥) there is Antoid Platoon (🐜), Living Lava, Naga Fire Wizard and Serpentine Soldier. In water there is Lobstradamus, Frost giant etc. In Earth there is Mycelic infantry and Stone Golem. In life there is Chaos Knight and Silvershield Paladin. As these card belong to different Splinters so direct comparison is not possible.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPpLfYZZXRUESzWhGz37oFcENUmg7LDgi2hWX8jArtLsKNVLLSrZZyXJjWzsdJcpGpuqVpP8JcMSd7JtySAGYTQMcX6neaZZkjEbgYcxzDre.png

Anyways Let's get into the battle. Here's the line up :

chrome_screenshot_1651141274438.png

Bottom one is me

Summoners Used :

Obsidian_lv1.png

Obsidian(Earth)


Ruleset :

(Explained from left to right)


chrome_screenshot_1651202154131.png

  • Unprotected - No monster can have Armor.

  • Lost Legendaries - Legendary cards can not be used.

  • Mana - 36

  • Splinters Allowed - Water, Earth (leaf icon), Life (Star icon) and Death (skull icon).

3 line Green.png


Thought process

  • Water - In water I like to use Alric with Oshannus but Oshannus is banned(🚫) in the ruleset. Also looking at enemies last 5 battles opponent was probably going to go Earth magic spam. As I didn't have a water with void so I didn't go water.

  • Earth - Earth Splinter has really good magic damage team and paired with Mustang 🐎 that has a void ability it can counter magic attacks. But I felt Death team with Thaddius Brood would be a better counter to magic

  • Life - Life splinter with General Sloan or Lorna Shine can counter magic effectively. I do not use General Sloan that much but I use Lorna Shine sneak attack strategy a lot. This strat paired with Crystal werewolf which needs enemy magic damage could counter Magic spam easily. But I had already made up my mind of Using Death so I didn't go with it.

  • Death - Death deck in lower league is generally used for little league or low mana match up. But Thaddius Brood is a really good Anti-Magic summoner. It has a lot of archery damage cards as well. I have found that Mustang 🐎 is a bit vulnerable to Archery damage so I wanted to use some archers along with Windeku and some slow monster. So I went with Death splinter.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPpLfYZZXRUESzWhGz37oFcENUmg7LDgi2hWX8jArtLsKNVLLSrZZyXJjWzsdJcpGpuqVpP8JcMSd7JtySAGYTQMcX6neaZZkjEbgYcxzDre.png

Battle

Round 1

chrome_screenshot_1651141332682.png

  • My Crypt Beetle died in the first two enemy hits but it did it's job which was to tank 1-2 hit form enemies high speed monsters.

  • As my enemy team has an Taunt monster so all of my damage was going towards to that and luckily I had enough damage to take out in the first round which was a relief because now my Mantoid (Snipe ability) could snipe those low health monsters.

  • Cursed Windeku managed to get a hit off in first round which I wasn't expecting but enemy was healed back to full health. It did take some damage as well.


Round 2

chrome_screenshot_1651141534653.png

  • I managed to kill off Enemy tank Unicorn Mustang. This happened because of Windeku and Archery damage. Thankfully I didn't get any misses because of Boogeyman.

  • My Windeku Died as well but I have a still lot of monsters with high Damage so I was confident that I was going to win in the next round. Mantoid Sniped a few monsters and Dhampir Stalker, Soul Strangler and boogeyman took care of Flying Pegasus.


Victory

I won comfortably.

chrome_screenshot_1651205107473.png


Battle Link - 👉Click Here👈

Cards Used with explanations :


(All cards are level 1 and Battle is from Silver 3 league)

Crypt Beetle_lv1.png

Crypt Beetle :

I placed Crypt Beetle in the front as an soft tank/fodder. I wanted it to tank some hits from high speed enemy monster which it did in the battle allow my backline to damage.


Cursed Windeku_lv1.png

Cursed Windeku :

At second position I placed Cursed Windeku as my main tank. I knew Crypt Beetle is gonna die early so Windeku seemed like a balanced option b/w attack and defence. It's Thorns ability is very useful against melee damage dealers and I was expecting Earth team with Mustang as frontline so this worked out fine for me.


Boogeyman_lv1.png

Boogeyman :

At third position I placed Boogeyman as it has good enough health to be tank when Windeku dies and because it has a slow ability. It's slow ability was crucial here because it allowed my archery damage to hit before the enemy backline starts to attack.


Dhampir Stalker_lv1.png

Dhampir Stalker :

At fourth position I placed Dhampir Stalker which is a Archer damage card with True Strike ability meaning it can not miss. So this was a great counter Enemy Flying Pegasus. It Does 3 Archery damage which is a lot at my level.


Soul Strangler_lv1.png

Soul Strangler :

At fifth position is placed Soul Strangler which is an another Archery damage card. I like to use archery against Unicorn Mustang so I used Soul Strangler which has 2 archery damage.


Mantoid_lv1.png

Mantoid :

At last position I placed Mantoid which is again an Archery damage neutral unit with Snipe ability. Earth deck has low health magic damage dealer so Snipe was an good option against them.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPpLfYZZXRUESzWhGz37oFcENUmg7LDgi2hWX8jArtLsKNVLLSrZZyXJjWzsdJcpGpuqVpP8JcMSd7JtySAGYTQMcX6neaZZkjEbgYcxzDre.png


Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time?

Yep it did work out fine this time. Well that depends on ruleset.

Do you like the (monster)? Why or why not?

I like this monster. Tho it's usage depends on the situation. In little league or if you are expecting your enemy to go heavy melee damage then it can be used as a tank for sneak attack or frontline tank with Monsters that have Demoralize ability . Overall this is a good card for it's mana cost.


Hope you like my post. Thank you.

Credits
@splinterlands - For the Splinterlands game and Artwork
@carrieallen - For Markdown Tutorial
@rqr4 - For Text Dividers.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @marianaemilia

Good battle, thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @defiant2wo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!