You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collection Power - Phase 2 Details

in #splinterlands4 years ago

I started playing Splinterlands 5 days ago. I played MTG for 20 years, then HS and probably 90% of the digital CCGs ever published; today I have a full time job + wife + kids, so I can't grind 14 hours a day.
I am stuck on bronze 3 because my collection power is like 250 (just purchased the summoner's book) but I should be in silver 1 for my win rating (>1600, still growing). This is just ridiculous.
I hate the "OMG this game will be dead in 2 months" attitude, but pls, listen to me: the best way to kill a game is to fail to attract new players. And with this "collection value" thing Splinterlands will be described as p2w game (or if you are lucky maybe just "a game with BIG paywalls"). I know, every TCG/CCG is a mix of p2w (no cards = no wins) and skill: but putting walls of this entity IMHO is simply a suicide. Now I (and all new players like me) have 2 choices: buying cards with the super-low DEC-rewards of my games (even if i win 70/80% of them), and go to bronze 2 like in 1 month, or open my wallet. I will never do the second because I think this game will be dead really soon without a stream of new players enjoying it and playing it, and with this walls new players will simply stop coming. Check your data.
Please, delete this "collection power thing" or at least change drastically the power needed for progress to the next league... the game is fun and I would like to continue playing it (not paying it). If you have bot-problems just find another way to solve it, captcha or whatever you want (the "capture rate" isn't enough I think if you are making this decisions)
Please :)

Sort:  
:reply:
Thank you for sharing your experience here. Many of saw this coming. I tried to warn them, read https://peakd.com/splinterlands/@dexy50/re-unicron-qf0e0c

I have been writing about what you said here, a danger of losing newcomers leading to game disaster.

Cheers!