You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Splinterlands Ranked Reward Changes - Introducing Glint & The Reward Shop!

in #splinterlandslast month

I’m not a fan of the changes yet remain hopeful that it will at least mix up the game to make it a little better for existing players with the shop vs chests. I agree it sucks to have wild be “punished” but also understand SL needs to incentivize people into modern to buy more packs for revenue. This would all be a moot point if they instead pushed to grow the user based. Instead we’re stagnant and the market is saturated with existing players who don’t really feel the need to buy new cards. I certainly don’t knowing that in a year it’ll lose 50-75% of its value and I can’t recoup that in SPS or reward cards. Therefore the company is taking the approach of trying to incentives players to burn their cards which is a solution but hardly a good one. Plus, shouldn’t those soulbound cards be unlocked soon so they can be sold on the secondary market? Why burn them to “try” and get the one I want when I could wait till they unlock to purchase the one I want? And apparently we’ll need to pay a fee to unlock them?

The issue remains that we’re not attracting new players and none of these changes address that. We get an average of 200 new accounts each day and only about 3% of those people buy a Spellbook. I would wager of that 3%, 1-2 of it is existing players opening an alt account. The conversion rate needs to drastically increase. The game first and foremost must be fun and right now it is not fun for new players.

Here is how we attract more players and increase the conversion rate on spellbooks.

https://peakd.com/splinterlands/@dmah/attracting-new-players

Sort:  

How does wrecking old set card values incentivize us to buy new sets? It just makes it clear that if we do keep buying cards, the team will ensure they're worthless in a couple of years, and frankly that puts me off

Same here, I stopped buying new cards because of the insane supply. Now I know they won't hold value, there's no incentive to start buying them. They will have to add value to old cards, or people wont buy new ones. I'm sure some people sold old cards to buy new ones, that doesn't work now.