Splinterlands Weekly Challenge - Barking Spider 🕷️

in #splinterlands4 years ago (edited)

image.png

This week's challenge from @splinterlands ⚔️

First off the card itself - check out this handsome arachnid in all its glory:

image.png

Their stats from the meta snapshot:

image.png

61% winrate is quite good (but very small sample size only being used in 0.2% of games...)

Let's see how effective it is. This is the first time I'm using it.

Here's the battle conditions:

image.png

  • Unarmored (i.e., no armor allowed)
  • 25 mana
  • All splinters available besides red and dragon

My lineup:

  • Wizard of Eastwood - my only green ++summoner++
  • Nectar Queen - one of my strongest ++tanks++ with good damage, health, and evasion
  • Barking spider
  • Mushroom Seer - great ++support++ given its mana cost with its silence ability and 2 magic damage
  • Wood Nymph - great ++tank healer++ that does 1 magic damage as well
  • Barking spider - the spider is playing the ++role of DPS and backside tank++ (to protect against sneak). Also as a ranged minion, I want to keep it as far back from the frontlines as possible. Just like with everyone else here, it has no armor, so it's not penalized by the "Unarmored" battle condition
  • Furious chicken - playing the ++role of fodder and gold harvester++

image.png

See here for video of the battle

image.png

I actually felt ++quite good++ going into the battle. But, alas, my strategy didn't work. The Kraken and Spirit Miner combo (both legendary cards) crushed me. I honestly don't know what I should have played instead to have beat them. Have any ideas? Please post down below!

Going forward, I won't use barking spider too often because it's a little expensive mana-wise for its damage output and doesn't provide any support abilities.

See y'all on the battlefield!


Subscribe to follow a recovering Hearthstone player's transition into becoming a Splinterlands newbie 😅

Interested in leaving Hearthstone, MTGA, or LoR to get started with an even better game? Join below using my referral code:

https://splinterlands.com?ref=genketsu

Sort:  
:thought:
I would always first want to use Unicorn. Imagine your battle with Unicorn and Ooze in place of Nectar Queen. Such a team would be good for any other opponent too.

Cheers!

Makes sense. I chose Nectar Queen because I figured the flying would be more useful than the void ability. But now I know!

Really appreciate the advice 😀

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice

Nice strategy @genketsu!! It may not have worked this time but might do well in other matches. Always try to do experiments with new line ups try to think of new combos. I would not also expect to have a Kraken opposite me in a 25 mana match. But it worked right? That's the trick! You have to out-think the enemy in order to win!

You are already doing good. Keep playing and you will learn many tricks and strategies over time. Also, thank you for posting such a nice article. Keep it going 🙂
Please note: You forgot to share your twitter link in the comments. Sharing the news always help others, especially newbies to gain more knowledge about the game.

I appreciate the advice and the upvote!

I'll keep it going :)