What is SMTT, and why do I keep buying it on Steem-Engine?

in #splinterlands4 years ago

image.png

I've seen a lot of people taking their Powered Down STEEM token and buying Splinterland Cards with them, but I've been buying something different.

The problem is, I don't know much about it, and there really isn't a lot of information out there to be found.

So what do I know? SMTT stands for Steem Monsters Team Token, it is, according to it's Steem-Engine listing: Security token representing equity ownership in Steem Monsters Corporation. Please contact @yabapmatt or @aggroed for more details.

When I search for additional information, I find a post from @steemmonsters back in April of 2019: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-completes-first-ever-security-token-offering-on-steem

So SMTT is a Security offering. A Security offering from the Number 1 Dapp on STEEM that is moving to HIVE, it is also the #5 overall Dapp in 24 hour user volume on any blockchain per https://www.dapp.com/ranking?category=-1&sort=2&time=0&type=0

To me this seems like a no brainer investment. So why is it going for 1 SMTT per 1 STEEM right now? Does anyone really think that Splinterlands is not going to be more valuable than STEEM with Sunny Boy taking it down?

I've accumulated 700 SMTT which isn't a ton when the max supply is 20 Million, but I see it as a nice little piece to keep in my pocket in case it blows up for me.

Does anyone know where to point me for more information about SMTT and what the plans are for this token and what owning it means for me? I don't need the long form explanation, just a general thought on what an Equity Share of Steem Monsters means, what your thoughts are on it, and why it is currently valued at 1 STEEM per share.

Sort:  

As with any company the value of being a shareholder comes when they make some profits in the future (if any) or when the share price value is free and rises due to high demand. The builders would use the initial money raised to market or improve the game or prehaps clone to more games. It would be interesting to know who is on the other side of the transactions on steemengine. Why would you not be able to sell it for more or less than 1 steem ?

I'm not really worried about it. I guess I'm just a bad investor to not do my own research before buying up tokens.

I also agree with goldrooster , You really have to personally talk to Yaba and aggy . Will you be receiving any dividends for it?

I know they say to contact them, but I kind of feel like that's the same as reaching out to a huge company. Just because I own a couple of shares of Facebook, doesn't mean I should be directly contacting Mark Zuckerberg.

If the value goes to zero, it was a gamble that didn't pay off, but since I have all of my Hive tokens, what I do with my Steem feels like a free bet to me, so I'm not terribly worried about it.