Splinterlands - Battle Mage Secrets: Ferocity!

in #splinterlands12 days ago


ferocity2.jpg


Hello fellow battlemages, welcome back to my Splinterlands blog, it's that time of the week again to make another Splinterlands post and earn a little extra, because BOY card prices are down and my wish list keeps growing, I want them all! 😅 On top of my list is the Coeurl Lurker now, for games without magic he's really good at just level 1, I need to save up some cash to get him at level 2 where he gets the Phase ability but that's of less importance to me.

How is your season going for you? With the new changes it really seems both leagues need some work, and like Bronze Dragon said in one of his video's 'both leagues are broken' and I agree, at the start of the season it's just unplayable in Modern because of all the max level decks out there, so I tend to fight in Wild for the first week and push all the way to Champion III (with my gold deck! yeah.. it's broken!) before I switch to modern in the last 5 to 7 days of the season where I start to claw my way up, it really took some work to even reach Modern Silver I and that's where the SPS rewards are starting to get really nice for me at over 2 SPS for every win, the Glint earnings are crap though, about 80 glint for a win - to compare, in Wild Diamond I / Champion III I'm earning 210 glint and 1.3 SPS every win, but Champ is where the big boys play, and I'll get destroyed by them easily.

A shoutout to my guild mate @estebam, he also reached Champion with Rare Summoners level 4 and 5 and Legendary Summoners level 2, a job well done! 🙂


banner 002 (untamed).png

I listened to the Townhall yesterday and some good changes are being made again, rewards multiplier now starts at 0x for accounts who don't have any SPS staked, the Glint Shop is getting more options to choose from like rarity draws and loot chests with a chance to win a jackpot and liquidity bots are added to Modern to hopefully fix things until we get more people in to the game. Bot / Battle Helpers detection in Modern, Brawls and Tournaments is getting added to block accounts that are using them so all in all, they're really trying to make things better and listen to the community, despite all FUD out there.
Because of all the changes, people are leaving and selling their assets so the question a lot of people are asking themselves: is this the end or a perfect opportunity?
The way I look at it is this: For me, Splinterlands is the ONLY Web3 game I'm still playing every day and that really became a part of my life, with the time I'm putting in to it, and the fun I'm getting out of it. In the last 2.5 years I played a few other games on the side too but I stopped playing them because they're not as fun, and fun is needed to be consistent over a long time horizon.
With everything there is to be done in the Splinterverse; Playing ranked matches, Brawls, Tournaments, managing my guilds, making posts, harvesting my land plots, exploring the market to pick up new cards, managing my card collection to see where it can be improved and making blog posts like this one to fund the actions I just mentioned. 😀



banner 001 (chaos legion).png


This weeks Battle Mage Secrets Challenge

This weeks Battle Mage Secrets Challenge is about the Ferocity ruleset, is which all units get the Fury ability, doing double damage to units with the Taunt ability, so basically it's just a 'don't use Taunt' game, and therefore, the Ferocity ruleset is a less dominant ruleset for me, and I mostly look at the other combined rulesets to make my battle plan around, as well as my opponents previous battles to see what card levels he uses and what he likes to use - players who use the same strategy a lot are better to counter play so, at the same time, a good battle mage rotates his strategy so that he remains unpredictable for his opponents and countering is made a lot harder.


The battle I want to share for this post is a 42 mana Modern League Holy Protection / Ferocity battle with only the Water and Life splinters available to be chosen, I felt I needed to protect myself against magic and not to rely heavily on armor, because in most Life teams, War Pegasus shatters armor quickly, so the only real threat that would remain considering this, is a heavy melee team, Possibilus for example, but every team has it's weakness and you have to make choices!



First look at the battlefield:


image.png

A player from the well known guild Time and Attention Legion I, it's Dwayne Cunningham's guild! Looking at his line-up, I think I'm allright for this battle since the real threat for me maybe would have been another Possibilus team. Anticipation and thinking about the possibilities is key, but the problem I'm running in to the most at the moment are higher level decks kicking my ass, for example, a max level Diemon Shark has Retaliate, a BIG difference with my Diemon Shark, that's not max level.


My Line-Up:

  • Summoner: Possibilus the Wise - reason: +HP, Trample.
  • First position: Baakjira - reason: Anti magic, self heal with a BIG HP amount.
  • Second position: Kulu Mastermind - reason: Weapons Traininging, fast, high damage, high HP.
  • Third position: Merdaali Guardian - reason: Heal and Repair.
  • Fourth position: Deeplurker - reason: High damage Opportunity with Poison.
  • Fifth position: Wave Smith - reason: Protect, Dispel, good magic damage.
  • Sixth position: Swamp Spitter - reason: Repair, good ranged damage.


The Battle:


image.png

Round 1: Not much happened just yet because of the Holy Protection everyone has.


image.png

Round 2: Baakjira got poisoned AND afflicted, so that's kinda bad, but my backup tank has a lot of HP too, Sunkaari Harvester died, and got resurrected, I bet Gonz didn't planned for that card to get the resurrect 😁, Deeplurkers poison is really nice, because its attack only hit armor, but the poison will kill it at the end of the turn anyway.


image.png

Round 3: My double repair is really hindering Uriel from doing the fatal damage because it's hitting armor every time. Baakjira is still alive and kicking despite of the Poison and Affliction! The enemy team is really lacking offensive capabilities doing high damage.


image.png

Round 4: The snowball started rolling and the enemy team is getting smaller fast now, while my own team is still fully alive, Baakjira won't last until the end of the battle I think.


image.png

Round 5: Only the Doc is still able to fire, safely camouflaged behind War Pegasus, but the Trample hit when the Pegasus died will hit him anyway, no chance for him!


image.png

Round 6: The trample destroyed the Doc's armor and he poisoned my Kulu Mastermind but that's fine, he won't survive next round, ironically the Doc got poisoned himself too 😁


image.png

Round 7: Bye bye! 🙂

You can watch the battle unfold for yourself here.


That's it for this week again, hopefully this post get nice upvotes again and you had fun reading this, see you on the next one!



splinterlands banner.png
Thank you for reading!!!

If you haven't made an account already, please consider using my referral link to sign up, I'll happily send the amount I get for your signup back to you in DEC or SPS to help you start.

Have a great day!

splinterlands banner1.png

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 15% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121