Splinterlands PvP #4: PEACEFUL GIANT CHALLENGE

thumb2.jpg

Welcome to the fourth episode of Splinterlands PvP. As is tradition let's start by opening a pack.

unopened pack.png

Quite a few potions on the line for this one. I have a good feeling. Can we get a gold foil to go along with the one from my last Splinterlands post? LET'S GO

opening now......!!

opened pack.png

Nothing exciting. Oh well, at least Serpent of Elo is a cool card that I'll eventually want to level up. More copies is good.

The Match: Peaceful Giant and Big Magic Damage

I view this week's card as a challenge. Normally I would never select Peaceful Giant for any of my teams. It is a card with no attack and no effects, so really not one that I find myself wanting to use.

the giant.png

I decided that my best strategy would be to use heavy magic damage with Alric Stormbringer to boost it after setting up Peaceful Giant as a tank in front. With a high mana battle I could find room for quite a few cards to do significant damage in rounds 1 & 2 before the giant falls.

Upon queue up, I got favorable match conditions immediately. Let's go!

THE TEAM:

team v1.png

Crustacean King provides tank heals to the Peaceful Giant, Sand Word does incredible amounts of Opportunity damage (5) and everybody else on the team is pushing magic damage boosted by +1 from Alric. I was not sure if this team would push heavy damage or just crumble in the first three rounds. Only one way to find out... into battle!!

game.png

Watch the battle: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=d247ac876ae8d7a3bbfbe04568c42b7cf69ee5e3&ref=quixoticflux

Somehow I found enough damage even though Peaceful Giant and Crustacean King were both dead by round 2. Alric is strong under the correct conditions. That's a win!!

results win.png

And with that, I will never play Peaceful Giant again. Challenge accomplished.

I just don't think that Giant is a good enough card to play considering many other options. It doesn't have enough health at least at low levels to justify using it on the team. Even if I have a ton of mana available there is always another card that would be a stronger choice for the card slot.

That does it for this week's PvP challenge. Thanks for reading :-)

Sort:  

Congratulations @quixoticflux! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - @ashikstd

Nice opening there and well done with your strategy.