You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why THIS is a Marking Nightmare for Splinterlands

in #splinterlands2 years ago

Hi Duce! It's always best to go from your specific background and not try to pretend that I'm an except on every religious background. Jews would be offended as well I presume and probably the Muslims as well though again, I cannot be an expert in this.

What I think is missing here is the two-fold issue: for me on a personal level it's a no. From a marketing perspective it's a BAD idea because it is offensive to other faiths. When you're trying to reach a mainstream audience, you want to offend the fewest people possible. If you're going for the Satanist audience, then by all means, but in this case previous religious imagery has been avoided in the game. A sudden departure from that position means you're now putting yourself into a corner you must defend. Is Splinterlands interested in defending that? Perhaps they are. In which case, my title is fitting... they have a marketing problem they will have to address and take a stand on. Again, it doesn't really matter my opinion here. What matters is they will need to address it and take a position. Once their position is made, you can choose to stay or go, that's up to you, to me, to all of us. Since moneywise we don't want ANYONE to go of ANY religion, it would be best if they avoided religious problems completely and then they do not limit their audience. You may find Christians that have no problem with it, but I'll find just as many that do, so it's not really a wise economic/marketing strategy is my point in this post. My personal opinion is just my added personal opinion on why I couldn't be involved with it if the images stayed.

Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I appreciate it.