SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! - [DEFENDER OF TRUTH]

in #splintertalk2 years ago (edited)


battle.png

Hello everyone! It's a new week and a new battle challenge. And in this challenge, the lucky monster comes from the light splinter. Today we'll play with the Defender of Truth.

It's a magic monster that I've used rarely. The reason behind that is the new Chaos Legion reward cards. To be more precise - Venari Crystalsmith.

These two monsters are very similar, but some differences set them apart. For example, Venari Crystalsmith gains the "protect" ability right from level one. But Defender of Truth gains it from level three. He's also an epic monster. So to play him at the fullest, you'll need at minimum a level four summoner. Also the new Venari Crystalsmith card comes from water splinter.

But there is a drawback for the Venari Crystalsmith. That card requires one extra mana point. And that sometimes can affect the lineup.


stats.png


Not yet playing? Join the game using this link.

On to the match itself.

Rues

  • Target practice
  • Equalizer
  • 16 mana
  • All splinters allowed

It was a low mana match, and on top of that, it had a very interesting modifier - an equalizer. This battle rule changes all monster hitpoints to the highest played friendly or foe monster.

That presents an opportunity to use multiple low health point monsters that would otherwise be a bit unreliable due to their survivability.

And I did do just that.

But on top of the mentioned battle modifier, there was one more - Target practice. This rule adds the snipe ability to all ranged and magic monsters. In an equalizer match, it's best to attack a single target with all your damage dealers.

And I picked my team to do just that.

My team

(Summoner) Mother Khala

I picked this summoner for the battle as +1 health often gives an advantage over the opponent. This match also had the equalizer rule, so with the help of the summoner, I would have a small advantage.


divider.png

(Spot 1) Pelacor Conjurer

In the first position, I placed a meat shield that would absorb the incoming damage coming from my opponent. Pelacor Conjurer is a new reward card coming from the Chaos Legion set.

I had a level three version, so I had to play it. But despite that, the card had a good speed plus flying ability. Such a combination could obtain a few misses, thus giving my damage dealers more time.


divider.png

(Spot 2) Light lemental

My first damage dealer. Light Elemental has just a few health points, but for that, this card gains good magic damage plus flying ability. If my Pelacor Conjurer would die, then this card could take over and keep on tanking while still doing damage.

Once this card gains a few levels, its health increases too, but still, it is rather squishy. That's why such cards work very well in equalizer battles.


divider.png

(Spot 3) Defender of Truth

Next up in spot three, I placed the star of this match. It's another damage dealer with two magic damage plus ability - protect. He does two things - deals damage and protects my other cards by giving them two shield points.


divider.png

(Spot 4) Divine Healer

Finally, in spot four, I added my last damage dealer, which has tank heal ability. It does less damage than the previous cards, but a heal could be useful in the battle.


divider.png

(Spot 5) Furious Chicken

Lastly, I added the old and trusty Furious Chicken to protect my Divine Healer from being targeted by sneak monsters. In normal conditions, this card would die in a single hit. But in an equalizer battle, this card turns into a meat shield that costs no mana points.

Because of that, it was a no-brainer to include it in my lineup.


divider.png

As you can see, I've added quite a few low-health monsters to my lineup. But with the help of the match rules, they will gain enough health points to be reliable.

Also, I brought a full magic team. And because of that, I hoped that my opponent would not add any magic reflect cards/summoners.

But what did my opponent bring to the party? Let's have a closer look.

Opponents team

My opponent also brought a light splinter team. But he was more oriented to melee with only a single magic monster. On top of that, it was a bit expensive all gold team.

But it had a couple of weaknesses. Firstly it wasn't oriented to damage a single monster. And secondly, some of them couldn't attack while not in the first position.

Because of that, I felt quite comfortable about a victory right from the start.






The battle lasted 7 rounds. Let's take a look at what happened.

round1.png

During round one my damage dealers nearly destroyed the opponents' Divine Healer thanks to the snipe modifier. But my Light Elemental suffered only a single health point loss.

round2.png

During round two, the opponents' healer was finished off, and my damage dealers started to take care of other cards one by one.

round3.png

After round three, my opponent had only three cards remaining while I still had them all. With smaller health but still all of them.

round4.png

During round four opponents' Feral Spirit managed to take down my chicken, but at this moment it was clear that he'll not have time to take down my Divine Healer as well.

round5.png

After round five, opponents' Silvershield Knight was nearly dead, and my Pelacor Conjurer was still going strong being backed up by Divine Healer.

round6.png

The last two rounds were just a formality as my opponent had only a single card, and it was missing firepower to change anything.

round7.png


divider.png

Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time?

My strategy for this match worked just perfectly. The opponent's team was dead, and I lost only a single monster.

A complete success if you ask me where nothing has to be changed.

Do you like the Defender of Truth? Why or why not?

It's a great card, and it can change the course of the game. There is a cheaper alternative found in the new Chaos Legion set - Venari Crystalsmith. But as I mentioned earlier, then this card cost 1 less mana point. And the Venari Crystalsmith is playable with water splinter cards.

You can see the whole fight by clicking on the image below:


battle.png

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @garzug.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @garzug! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

Thanks for sharing! - @ashikstd