Fight review #3 Mylor + 3* Flesh Golem

in #splintertalk3 years ago

fight review 3.png

Another day another fight! Hope you're all having a wonderful day. We are already half way through the season and with only 1 week left, I hope everyone is getting close to the rank they wanna achieve this season!

Today's fight isn't a long one, but it's a fairly common one the higher you start to get in the ladder in the lower ranks. This review isn't about giving you a team to use, but it's more about giving you an idea of how to approach a position like this. You don't need to spend a huge amount of DEC every day renting cards, just think about your win conditions and how to best utilize them.

Team Lineup

review 3.png

"You are using Mylor too! BOOOOO!!!"

Yes, I am, and while normally I try to avoid playing Mylor vs Mylor, it was the hand I was dealt, hence why the point of today's fight review is to help you figure out your own combination rather than just giving you a clear cut team, because every fight is different and every opponent has a different approach to it. If you apply that way of thinking, you'll be able to find your own combination of units to win. This battle was heavily restrictive and still it wasn't that difficult to figure out a way to come out ahead.

The first thing you need to do is always always, check your opponent's last 5 battle, it's a VERY important resource as it gives you insight into so many variables. The powerful units he has, the color and summoners he prefers, his positioning style and his unit preference. That is so much information just waiting for you, use it.

Your second course of action is to ask yourself this:

  1. What powerful units does my opponent own and how can I play around them?
  2. How is the restrictions going to limit him?
  3. How do I play around his positioning?
  4. What is my strategy's lose conditions?

For me, my opponent had Undying, Llama,3 Flesh Golem*, and Mylor. He obviously played Earth exclusively to abuse the power of these cards.

The restrictions limited him in that he couldn't use Undying as it costs 10 mana and he only had 9 to spare unless he has Xander Foxwood or Prince Julian which still puts me in a favorable position. He also cant use Llama + Flesh Golem which meant he was most likely going to use Mylor + Flesh Golem and have 3 mana to spare, which meant Goblin Sorcerer was the most likely card he was going to use, hence my positioning in putting Furious Chicken as the last card.

I was comfortable with my lineup and confident in how I think he was going to play but it was obvious at a glance that if he had used Failed Summoner as a front line or even at the back, I would lose but at the same time if I played Harvester + Wood Nymph I'd once again be ahead, but it wasn't a risk I was willing to take since it was easier to lose with Harvester due to him having 1 less speed which would hurt if I miss and his Goblin Sorcerer would kill my healer, giving me 2 potential lose conditions. In the end he went with the team I put him on and the fight was pretty straightforward.

The Fight

fight review 33.png

The Fight

There isn't much to discuss about the fight, Flesh Golem was healing 3 HP and I was doing 4 damage per round with no chance to miss, so it was just a waiting game.

Final Thoughts

In the end don't be afraid to limit test, try to do the fight math in your head if he plays a certain unit or comp, sometimes you'll be wrong, sometimes you'll fail, but you'll come out smarter, more experienced, you'll discover new ways to build your team, to position it. It's never a recipe that you follow, every battle is its own experience so try to enjoy it, learn from it, at the end of the day that's what makes every one of us special, our ability to adapt, to learn and to evolve.

Thank you for reading and being here, you're all awesome. Feel free to leave your questions in the comments and I'll answer them to the best of my ability! I'll be back again tomorrow with another fight. Until then, happy grinding!

Sort:  

Hi @thechainboy!

I'd like to introduce you to our new project coming to Hive this September.

Lootjoy is a provably fair and transparent gaming platform powered by the Hive blockchain that allows its users to win NFTs from a wide variety of popular collections across a selection of major blockchains. This Septmeber we'll be giving our players the ability to win a selection of Splinterlands cards from our exclusive loot crates.

You can find out more in our introduction post:

https://peakd.com/splinterlands/@lootjoy/introducing-lootjoy-provably-fair-nft-loot-boxes-built-on-the-hive-blockchain

Keep up to date with our launch by following us on Hive or Twitter


Join us on Discord here