Splinterlands Art Contest! // Week 168 // Retro Magnor

in #splintertalk2 years ago

Hi Everyone,

This is my submission for the Splinterlands Art contest week 168!

 "image.png"

This week I took on the legendary Fire monster Magnor. The card just screams power, and I love the ancient Greek god/titan vibe that it gives off. Due to the holiday season I have not had as much time to work on this project as I normally would, so this ended up taking much longer than my Dr. Blight; hence my absence from the last two contests.

As always I work exclusively on Microsoft Excel for my pixel art. I like the manual nature of using a spreadsheet that was not made for pixel-art; there are no shortcuts. Also since both my office and home computer have the program I am able to work on these projects throughout the day which is helpful since the process is time consuming.

I used the same size scale as I did for my Retro Dr. Blight and started the project working on the Untamed background directly over my Dr. Blight image.

 "image.png"

The three abilities of Magnor were all new for me, so I had to create each one for this card. No time saving copy/ paste for me yet.

 "image.png"

This is also my first untamed card so the card outline was all new but once complete, the detail was definitely worth it.

 "image.png"

Once I had my workspace bordered I began work on a basic outline of Magnor. since he is about 33 percent foot, there was no better place to start.

 "image.png"

Then on to the rest of the body

 "image.png"

and eventually to the background

 "image.png"

until we finally got to the finished product, Retro Magnor

 "image.png"

and of course, here is the side to side of my pixelated Magnor to the original.

 "image.png"

Thank you to everyone who enjoys my work and thank you to the contest administrators for selecting my Retro Dr. Blight as a winner in the week 165 contest.

Slight side note, I am planning to continue pixelating splinterlands cards long into the future so if anyone has any suggestions or favorite cards they would be interested in seeing done, please let me know in a comment and I will definitely consider it for future projects.

thanks again for reading

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859

Congratulations @tomarabi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @tomarabi,

The previous HiveBuzz proposal expired end of December.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!