You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Sports - Corruption, cheating and exploitation? Is this what college sports have come to?

in #sports6 years ago

You know I'm a fan. I love college athletics. Go Cougs!

You should know that I am also aware of the shame of college athletics. Generally speaking, the coaches salary at a top tier school costs the program way more than the total of the scholarships. Excuse me?

I do not know what the answer is. The management of big time sports programs at universities is often left to people directly involved in the sports side. Horrible choice.

I could go on and on and on. I think it stinks, but I don't think there is an easy answer. Sad stuff, really.

Thanks for a great article. Really well written and thought.

Sort:  

Yh
Sports management is different from the game itself. I think nothing can be done. The money involved is too big and tempting.

Some of these coaches are making millions and millions of dollars. This is about having the best coaches to lure the best players. The best programs get the best TV coverage and more coverage is more $$$. It is sad but the chance of getting a pro deal makes it worthwhile to the players no matter how wrong it is.