Diski Domain - Amateur Township Football from South Africa! #FREEBOOTING_MUST_FALL

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit Friends!

My name is Matt!

I've been a YouTube content creator for over 10 years now, sadly I haven't created content for over a year.
The reason? FREEBOOTING and content Theft :(
Many of my edited pieces have gone viral worldwide and gained dozens of MILLIONS of views!
When I started editing and video compilations in the beginning, it was all for the passion! I noticed my content getting stolen but it did not phase me that much as I got some decent exposure. But in the last few years, Freebooting has become disgustingly rampant. Platforms such as Facebook are pathetic with copyright take-downs and by the time they respond, the damage is done already. It's depressing when you see thieves profiting directly off your hard work, that is when sadly the phrase "It's not about the money" falls flat :(

Here is one currently on Facebook with 14 Million views. Any content creator can tell you that 14 Million views could propel your channel or future goals to a completely different level!
stolen.JPG

This is the reason I have turned to the power of Blockchain and Steemit. I believe platforms like this are the undeniable death of greedy corporations like Google and Facebook. A video ecosystem should reward it's content creators, not give them measly percentages once the mass profit has been lapped up.

So I'm here! Hoping to network and discover the true potential of a platform that can reward ORIGINAL content creators for their efforts. I will be sharing my photos from my journeys in the townships from around Johannesburg (South Africa)

Here is my last Youtube video I created before I gave up due to the theft :)

QUESTION > I see Steemit is in Beta mode. Will the future release give us the option to upload video content directly to the platform? I don't understand how it's beneficial for us to be driving traffic back to the platforms we essentially want to defeat :)
Also, let us discuss Freebooting and content theft please! I feel this subject needs to be discussed in detail and thoroughly. I want to create and share content but know I am safeguarded! (p.s - It also worries me here to see people making money off gifs or pics, content they don't essentially have rights to?!).

I'm looking forward to the journey, full STEEM ahead! Hope it's fruitful and beneficial to all of us as a community.

One Love,
Matt

All pics below from my Instagram account > matt_pentz

01.PNG
02.JPG
03.JPG
04.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @diskidomain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome aboard. Saw some of your comments on the upvote/downvote debate thread going on and checked out your intro here.
Hope you're not getting too discouraged already, but likewise it's important to set realistic expectations!

The Steem platform is a bit anarchist at heart. Everything is driven by the votes of the community. Therefore it is in some ways less resistant to content theft. There is no way to request any central authority to remove a post that is plagiarized or stolen from your content. There is no way for an account to be closed or removed for violating any terms of service. For some folks this is a plus as they know they're not at the whims of YouTube, Twitter, FB, etc. who could demonetize or delete them at a moments notice.

On the Steem platform it is entirely up to you, the community at large, and your fanbase to take the action of down voting (flagging) content that may be pirating you or others. This can at least remove the rewards, reduce visibility, and lower the posters reputation.

There are organizations, community driven, to assist if need be. One such is @steemcleaners who would assist if a plagiarist is reported to them.

For a Steem based video solution check out d.tube

I'm also not fully negative on bot voting, although I believe it should still be curated bot voting. I do have certain authors that I use the steemvoter service to automatically upvote for me. I view it as a Patreon type use of the Steem system. If each of my votes is about .05 cents and the person posts a couple times a day, I know I'm "pledging" about $3 a month to support them. I'll adjust based on if content changes, post frequency, they conclude a certain project or funding goal, etc. But bots in and of themselves are not purely evil in my opinion.

Also, in order to have any impact bots need to have Steem Power behind them. The chief protection in the Steem system is the fact that it is stake weighted. Essentially 1 Steem = 1 vote. An army of valueless bot votes does little to distort the earnings or visibility of posts and content.

Again, I hope your first views haven't been too negative. There is a lot of potential here on a platform that essentially cuts out all the middlemen. But it's the "wild west" right now for sure. Any questions feel free to ask and I'll do my best to help.

WOW! Thanks for the detailed feedback Bryan. The Wild Wild West indeed!
Your description does make sense, generally the overall voting system by a hopefully non biased community will even things out naturally. I understand it's only the beginning really so we have to dive in head first to see what works and what doesn't. I'm going to stick around for sure and see the potential this has to offer. Thanks again man, appreciate the feedback.

Bryan! Have you looked at Dtube? It is RIDDEN with pirated movies that people are making money off. It's a disgrace. I'm really disappointed man!

Hey there! Hope you aren't an automated bot that comments on every new post :( ?

Definitely is... so I flagged (down voted) the comment. The accounts reputation score has dwindled down to 7 from down votes, once it goes below 0 all of it's posts will start with reduced visibility by default. That's how spammers and plagiarists are best dealt with by the community.

Starting to all make sense quite a bit more! Thanks again Bryan.