MY WORLD CUP QUEST: BUBBLES COLLIDING, BOUNCING, BOPPING AND POPPING

in #sports6 years ago

29/32 WORLD CUP TEAMS COMPLETED

ATOMIC BUBBLES

Human society is complex. It has probably never been more complex than it is now. We are approaching a population of 8 billion people with technologies that allow us to affect others. Many others. Millions of others. Possibly all others.
The system is so complicated that it is impossible for any one person to get a firm grasp on the enormity of it all. We live our whole lives in tiny bubbles of existence.

ONCE YOU POP YOU CAN'T STOP

From time to time you become aware of another bubble in your vicinity. During this World Cup I had the chance to dip my toe into some of these other bubbles. Some I may never return to of my own volition. Some I may never find a way into again even if I tried. It is possible that some are now part of my slightly extended bubble.

Your own bubble becomes instantly recognisable when you are exposed to a bubble you are not part of. Before that you blithely assume that most of the world is your bubble. Anything worthwhile is likely contained in your bubble and anything beyond that are niche bubbles not worth the energy exploring. Language is one of the most recognisable bubble signifiers in a society. Finding the Spanish-speaking bubble in Bangkok was an eye-opener as I saw a community geographically spread out yet richly connected and international in make up. The anglosphere is but one bubble.
Bubble burst.

IN UTERO

The highly successful W District market at Phrakanong was the destination for the Columbia game. My newly made Argentinian friends had invited me to watch the game with their Columbian friends. W District is one of the more successful outdoor markets which makes good use of Thailand's eternally tropical weather. Hundreds of people filled the tables of this outdoor food and drink bazaar. These outdoor tables are temptingly surrounded by food stalls and more sturdy looking bars. I entered one of those bars. I was met with the sight of a cosmopolitan expat crowd dancing the congo. I spotted Connector sitting at a table full of people. I was anxious to get my two left feet under a seat as quickly as possible. I fumbled through the kissing and hugging niceties of the Argentinians as elegantly as a donkey in drag and gladly hooved myself down in front of the big screen. Connector had brought me inside her bubble.

POSTIVE INFLATIONARY GROWTH

The Colombian fans and their friends were nothing but great company. I was painted upon and sung to with minimal consent, #colourmetoo. To support Colombia was to dance, to move. Flags and bodies were there to be shook. And shook they were. There was always movement.

It worked too as Colombia got the winner in the 74th minute and sealed their place in the next round. My planetary bubble edged that tiny bit wider.

*Join me in my quest. It started here https://steemit.com/sport/@highselfesteem/i-m-going-to-watch-the-world-cup-with-a-fan-from-every-country-in-bangkok-or-sleep-trying and will continue for the duration of the World Cup.

*Other words, pictures and sounds at my website http://www.thisthailife.com/

*Twitter @ThisThaiLife

*Facebook https://www.facebook.com/thisthailife/

Sort:  

@highselfesteem, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!