The Aftermath of Mayweather v McGregor

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

Formostly, I love my fellow Irishman and everything he does, but I think I speak for millions when I say I'm disappointed. On the flip side I can see the love for Mayweather, the triumph of his fans and of boxing. Neither side, though, has license to be stupid.

Last night, McGregor tired himself out by Round 8 after having done quite well up until Round 3. Yes, he had a strategy that may have been smart in an alternate dimension, but we're all in this ordinary one where boxing isn't MMA. He was foolish if he ever thought he could handle such a champion, and part of me strongly suspects he in fact didn't. These are realities a number of McGregor fans didn't contemplate before the match, during the match, or after the match when they took to Twitter. Admittedly, these plaints were in the vast minority and only lasted half an hour, but they're telling. The most cringe-worthy and commonest of them all was, in so many words, "let's see Mayweather cross into McGregor's domain [MMA]".


Related Reading: BREAKING: Conor McGregor Causes Category 4 Hurricane to Strike United States


Now that I think of it, are these the people who placed sizeable bets on The Notorious and are sore that they've lost? Are they, perhaps, people who accepted McGregor as an idol and are sore that he lied to them? I know I partially belong in both of those camps. I hope my fellow idiots can come to terms, as I have, with the fact that Conor is just a man - as super-human as he is - and that I'm a fucking retard for having bet €90 on him.

The end of the fight came pretty quickly if you're not familiar with boxing and didn't notice McGregor "boxing" like a 2 month old baby or a kitten in play for Round 9 and 10. After 3 seconds of Mayweather wailing on him the Ref declared a technical KO - which only registered in my brain after Mayweather climbed up on the ropes, partially due to denial and partially due to the pirate stream I was watching came from France. The ring flooded with everyone concerned, followed by the most unconvincing acting I've seen since Sandy Hook. We might think Conor did the sportsman thing by immediately congratulating Floyd and Floyd did the sportsman thing by praising Conor's cojones and endurance, but what was really going on was that neither of them truly gave a shit. Just another day at the office - another multi hundred million Dollar day at the office. It was just a technical experience for both fighters, which I can only praise, except that they tried to convince us of otherwise.

The truth of the Mayweather v McGregor fight is simply this: except for the lazy bums who bet on Floyd for a miserly 10% return, the only winners that night were both fighters and the industry behind them, and those of us who managed to watch the fucking thing for free on the Internet.

Sort:  

Good summary here, what I liked most was this statement that you just slipped in so casually: "followed by the most unconvincing acting I've seen since Sandy Hook. " It is good so see that people are looking behind the curtain.

Thanks for reading and voting.
Writing's my thing, so I won't limit myself to what I write about. Nor will I pretend the collective consensus trance is real while I'm doing it. Much better than the in-your-face beating-you-over-the-head with declarative statements. The mind is a special thing - in a spoiled rich brat kinda way - in that it needs to be approached gently.

Great post! Now following. They didn't hide the fact that it was always just about money.