You ever wanted to run your own football team?

in #sports7 years ago

Have you ever wanted to run your own football team? If you are a real US football fan, you probably have. What if I told you you could do it for free!? I have been a part of this site for about a year now and (unless you want to name players or teams, create your own league, or join more then one league per day) it is completely free to play!

They even gave simulations where you can see representations of your players actually on a digital field. Stats are saved automatically as are gameplans and rules as well. I am currently drafting in my ninth league, and I am six rounds deep into the dispersal draft. I am going to try to do one or two of these per day until my draft is over and give you a clue into what I was thinking and how I m trying to build my team. It may not turn out that way as I can always change my mind, or others can draft the players I wanted before my etc... but I did have a plan coming in and that was to build defense first and my offensive line as well and then go from there.

In the first two days you have much more time on the clock per pick. You have timed slots, so you know well in advance to the draft when you pick which is good. There are four rounds in each of the first two days for a total of your first eight players when all is said and done.

In round one I had the 13th overall selection. I picked the players I wanted the most, trying to make sure I focused on defense first and trying to stay away from boom or bust type players (Volatility is the way the game rated the players 0-100 for the boom or bust rating. 100 is the most risky and 0 is the least risky. However 0 may also have the least chance to really blossom and break out as well. When picking early to me it's better safe than sorry. So if I can help it, again I try to stay away from guys who are highly volatile.

The night before the draft once I had selected the 13 players I liked the best, I went about trying to sort them in order. The draft begins promptly at 5 AM in my time zone. (Which is Pacific and that is 8 am for the East Coasters out there)

The game automatically picks for you when it's your turn assuming you have players left in your queu. (your list) My first player taken (in the first of 46 drafted rounds) was: (drumroll please)

#25 Mark Sirmans - SS

There are a couple of ratings that are also defensive related that the game figures aren't as important for safeties (and of course other positions as well) So I will now post his full defensive ratings and bold the two that weren't included in the picture.

Conditioning 15
Position Exp 27
Volatility 56
Max Speed 96
Acceleration 98
Strength 97
Intelligence 97
Discipline 100
Pass Rush 8/31 (this is one of the hidden ratings)
Run Defense 37/100
Punish Receiver 77/95
Zone coverage 24/96
M2M Coverage 25/99
B&R Coverage 60/97 (this is the other one)

So as you might have guessed, my first player was for my team The Chargers. He was a first year rookie with 58 volatility. I am very excited about this player. He was rated 42 current, and is projected to eventually be a 97 overall safety when he is fully developed. He may be better, he may be worse. Let's hope the dice rolls (or whatever the computer uses during the nightly sims are kind!) I wanted to say the sims are done over the internet with the program itself. No one is going to cheat you. Also when the game is running the sim, there is no logging in until the sim period is over.

This is getting a bit lengthy, since I had to explain how things works and what everything means as well. I am going to include a link to the site. If you are intersted click here: http://mfnow.us/ent2TD Again, it is free to play unless you want to do extra (Non essential) game functions. I am also going to try and include a link to one of my actual simmed games in one of my very first leagues.

https://mfn71.myfootballnow.com/gamecenter/view/1944#352181

Again, the plan is to make this an in depth blog and series of my picks and journey with this team. I hope some of you find it entertaining and enjoyable! I also hope to see many of you in some of my leagues soon! If you have any questions, comments etc feel free to list them below. Have a great day, everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JJSolley from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 25.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @jjsolley. Vote for Aggroed!

@jjsolley got you a $1.3 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@jjsolley got you a $1.3 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!