You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Sports - Getting your "Bell Rung": The growing issue of concussions in sports

in #sports6 years ago

Personally, if I were able to relive the decision to play football or not, I would have not chosen it. At this point, it is obvious to me that the risks are not worth the reward. There are many other sports that, while concussions can certainly happen, they do not happen certainly, as they do with football. I do not have children, but I would say to anyone who does, to not allow your child (I did not say son here, because on the team I was on we did have a couple of girls on our team, one who was actually quite a good player) to play football. I was looking for the quote by major league ballplayer Johnny Damon about his football career (where he was concussed in high school by a young Warren Sapp) that if he had kids who were talented enough in sports that a sport that isn't as violent and collision oriented would be a better choice.

Sort:  

This is starting to happen all over. Many parents are starting to avoid high impact and dangerous sports like football and hockey. There is certainly a shifting mentality towards keeping our kids safe. I don't know if I would change anything about the sports that I played but I would certainly make sure that I was safer and pulled myself out when hurt. Impact to the head while already concussed can have extreme consequences.