Can You Identify These Autographs?

in #sports6 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! A week ago, I wrote about how I ended up at an antique mall that was across from the Volo Auto Museum (I wrote a post about the museum). I ran across something of interest, a signed baseball with 3 mystery signatures. Here are the 3 signatures:

Auto.jpg

I normally would not spend money on a mystery ball, but the price was so low, I couldn't pass it up. How low was the price...only $3! It was in a ball cube, which in itself was probably worth $3. Also, the ball was new and is probably worth $3. So it's worth it, no matter who signed it.

Now to unravel the mystery. Here's what I know:

  • I bought it in Volo, IL, which is about a half hour south of the IL / WI border.
  • There are numerous professional baseball teams in the area. The closest one being the Schaumburg Boomers. Other teams include the minor league Kane County Cougars as well as major league teams Milwaukee Brewers, Chicago White Sox, and Chicago Cubs.
  • The ball was in a plastic ball cube, which meant the original owner protected it. This makes me believe the baseball was signed by professional players. Why would you spend money on a case, if did not think the signatures had any value?
  • They did not use a official Rawlings league baseball, but a generic Wilson ball. They also have the signatures in sharpie. Experienced autograph collectors have baseballs signed in pen.
  • There are initials written on it, R.V.
  • The signatures are slightly faded, so I'd think this was not recently signed.

if I had to guess, the original owner forgot or no longer cared about the ball. They probably were obtained by a child who did not even know who was signing it. Items end up in these places for a variety of reasons and the seller is unlikely the original owner.

Here is what the ball looks like:

baseball.jpg

I doubt this mystery will be solved, but it sure will be fun trying. Until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

SSG.png

Alliance1.jpg

Steem USA Footer.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold