You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Sports - Heroes? How Much Should We Idolize Professional Athletes?

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

You are right! In my childhood even now (or before reading your post). If you asked me to write an essay about “who is my hero” first thing that pops in my head is professional athlete, perhaps two, three, four... all of them would be athletes. Ok, with one exception, my dad. But he past away when I was 10. Perhaps all kids before writing any essay about “hero”, should be educated about what actually being a hero means.

It is human nature to admire greatness and cheer for the accomplishments of great athletes.

Reading all this criminal history of well known athletes makes me doubt my hero ideas. For example Michael Phelps. He definitely was in my “hero” book, now he is my idol or a role model. Obviously people representing the law think the same way, just like many of us. Protecting them, making privileges or simply money talks sometimes. You are right. Better definition for honest and hard working professional athletes should be “a role models”. Who is my hero now? I will have to think about it...
Anyway, great post!

Sort:  

Great comment, I am in the same boat myself at times. I find myself putting these great athletes on a pedestal but I think it important that we stop and think about how much admiration these athletes are getting and why. Enjoy them for what they are. Great athletes do not always equal great people.