US Open: Roger Federer says he realized the match he needed

in #sports7 years ago

Roger Federer was very pleased with his performance against Feliciano Lopez in the third round of the US Open and his victory in only three sets (6-3, 6-3, 7-5).

"How did you live this third round win in three sets?
It was good to be in the lead two sets to zero, it changed! I felt better too, I had energy. My biggest fear was to feel a bit slow after two games in five sets. It did not happen and I started off well. The first set was fast, the second was tighter, I had a little more trouble in the service but it was nice to be able to cross those moments. A bit of difficulty in the third but I'm satisfied with my performance and that's exactly what I needed.

You were talking about your timing after your second round. You seem to have found him tonight.
I think I just needed to spend hours on the court. It took me a few hours on this ground and then put in the rearview mirror back problems. My problems in the second round were due to my preparation and now I am more confident in my means, my shots. I am in the present, I think of the sequel, the tactics ... I am glad to be here and I am satisfied with the way we have approached things in our preparation. We did not force things and it was like that. We kind of threw the coin but I'm still there in the fourth round. I am confident in my abilities and I feel better.
"This week, I do not feel this pressure"

Many of the seeds and top 10 players are no longer. Do you feel a kind of pressure to have to tournament you and Rafael Nadal?
No, but when we see seeds falling, we must turn to you. When this happens, many people say that your turn can come next. But this week, I do not feel this pressure. I just know we'll see a new finalist in the bottom of the board, which is exciting in itself. And that there is a challenge in the upper part and I'm happy with that too.

Did you follow Philipp Kohlschreiber's tournament your next opponent?
In fact, I did not see much play, only four points I believe! I do not know why I followed him so little. I was perhaps more focused on my problems. But I know him well, we trained a lot together and we had already clashed here two years ago, under the structure of the roof, I remember. "