Sports & Musings Vol. IV: The best zebra rant ever, the picks, and how to not regret that last beer

in #sports7 years ago

I'll forgive you if you don't know the Legends Football League. Mainly because it is no longer referred to as the Lingerie Football League. What a sexist league name that was! Good thing we changed it, and now I can watch chicks playing football in lingerie without being a clear-conscience.

This year the Seattle Mist are leading the West Division with a perfect record of 6-0. Hey, the Mariners are bad, the seahawks are grossly underachieving but at least I got the Mist, right?

Check out this video of Seattle Mist coach Chris Michaelson giving it to the Zebra real good.


The weather is pretty nasty here in Niigata, Japan today. We got a nice mix of snow and rain going on right now. Which made me think of Russia, which reminded me of driving in Russia, which reminded me of this awesome video. Yeah, that is usually how I get from point A to B.

What do you do when you are having trouble merging? Flash your piece to show who the boss is. They'll let you in.

Just another day of driving, eh?


Well, let's get on to the NFL picks for the week

Week 11, I decided to pull out some of my SBD here on steem and convert it to bitcoin, then I transferred it to betonline.ag (I highly recommend it if you enjoy sports betting – your first bitcoin deposit is matched 100% up to $2,500 with free play betting) Free play money is betting allowance you can use on the site – if you win, you get the earnings. If you lose, you didn’t lose any money.

Games I'm betting money on this week:

Hot shot call of the week.

Ever just know you’re right? Like unsubstantiated right? You know, when you can’t be wrong because you feel it in your gut, right? Yeah, usually I feel that way once a week on a particular game. And if it’s wrong that is just because of unforeseen circumstances. Like bad zebras who deserve the wrath of Chris Michaelson. Anyway, without further ado…

New England (-8.5) at Buffalo

Excuse me while I go change my pants. I got too excited when I saw the spread on this one. Buffalo had a big win last week, for sure. I think we got lucky and this line is a bit of an overreaction to the whoopin’ that was put up on the Chiefs last week. And, I’ll tell you what, I’m glad Taylor came out and had a good game after his benching (which I didn’t understand.) I love hoping Buffalo will be good every year, but usually they aren’t. They are playing about .500 ball right now which ain’t bad.

But I’d bet the farm (if I had one) on this game. That’s how good I feel about it. So this week 20 bucks will have to do.

Final: NE, 30-13.

My last hot shot call of the week turned out much better than the previous. I took Tennessee to cover (-3.5) against colts. I sure was sweating that one out after first half. No, wait, I wasn’t, I knew my pick was right on. It wasn’t pretty but a lot of good things aren’t, such as home run swings by Todd Frazier, but I’ll take it.

Hot shot call of the week season record: 1-1

Speaking of Indy…

Forget that last beer bet of the week.

Ever been out at the bar and think, “Yeah, one more is a good idea.” Uh, huh. We all have. Well, it wasn’t a good idea and next time it also won’t be. So why not throw that extra 5 dollars away on a bet that is most likely to lose. I mean hey, I might not. Odds are better of winning money from that than having one too many and feeling good the next day.

With that said, my pick this week is Indy over Jacksonville. The money line is +355 for Indy. $5 down would net $17.75. That’s the best regret beer I’ve never had!

Indianapolis at Jacksonville (-8.5)

The football gods are really blessing us with the schedule this week aren’t they? How bad is the AFC? Here are two bad teams playing, yet one of them actually has a legitimate shot at going to the playoffs. Too bad Manning wasn’t traded before the deadline to Jacksonville as they are a competent QB away from being real good.

Get to know me a little: I suffer greatly from name bias. For example, if I were a scout and I look at a name on paper, I just know they are destined for stardom. Perfect example, Brett Favre, Bart Starr, Johnny Unitas, etc. The same goes the opposite ways, busts usually have bad names, i.e. Brian Bosworth etc. – I would have never drafted Bortles. What a dumb name, more importantly, what a bad QB. Maybe my system ain’t too shabby after all.

I got a feeling we can call off the hurricanes this week Coach P!

Indy, 20-17

Forget that last beer bet of the week season record: 1-0

The rest of the picks (no money wagered)

Denver at Miami

Two weeks ago, My Hot Shot Call Of The Week, I went against one of my golden gambling rules. You can find that here. Long story short, I took Denver over Cincy. Ignoring the golden rule to bet on two bad teams because bad things happen to bad teams. I did it anyway… and I paid the price. Brock Os..whatever-the-hell-his-name-is, whatever, I don’t care, started off throwing rocket passes down in the red zone. I mean, look at this ill-advised throw! Unbelievable, dude – you crusher of amateur-gambler’s hearts.

This week, two bad teams, take the home team I guess.

Miami, 20-13

Detroit at Baltimore (-3)
Detriot, 17-13

Houston at Tennessee (-7)

About that name bias problem I told you about... It's good I’m not a scout, I would have been in my GM’s ear like, “Listen, this guy, Savage, he has the IT factor, you know what I’m sayin’? You're a damn fool not taking this guy in the first round. Gonna regret it for decades, bro.”

And Tom Savage is where this logic falls terrible short of, well, even resembling anything close to logical. This guy is a savage. Terrible, just terrible. Anyhow, I think Tennessee wins but Houston covers in some sort of low-scoring affair.

Tennessee, 17-13

Kansas City (-4.5) at N.Y. Jets
KC,

Minnesota at Atlanta (-2.5)
Minnesota, 24-20

San Francisco at Chicago (-4.5)

San Fran is dead last against the run and Chicago can run the ball pretty well. I expect Chicago to control field position and when a fairly close game. But, who knows? What is Garrapolo going to come out and do? My guess, not a whole lot. San Fran doesn’t have a line or any weapons.

Chicago, 17-13.

Tampa Bay at Green Bay (E)
Green Bay, 24-14

Cleveland at L.A. Chargers (-13) (I refuse to bold Cleveland as that is not a football operation)

Carolina at New Orleans (-4)
Carolina, 24-23

L.A. Rams (-6) at Arizona
LAR, 30-17

N.Y. Giants at Oakland (-8.5)
Oakland, 27-10

Philadelphia (-5.5) at Seattle (I might put money on this game because I am a homer through and through)
Philadelphia, 30-26

Pittsburgh at Cincinnati
Pittsburgh, 23-17