You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I can't watch baseball on TV, but I love going to the games

in #sports3 years ago

It's hard to watch a full game on TV but i don't mind watching highlights from the games. The games seem to drag when watching on tv somehow. When i go to an actual game either if it's pro or minor league the games seem shorter. I guess with the commercials and the ability to make the game "longer" by showing replays and then going "back to the game" in reality the "live" play happened maybe 3 minutes ago. I don't like that. I rather watch from start to finish with no interruptions. If i missed out on something interesting then i will see it later on the news. One other thing when it comes to watching on TV is I tend to want to just listen to the game and sometime the commentating is bad. I only say this cause when my local baseball team is away their games are only shown on the away teams channel wether it's youtube or if your lucky their game is on the leagues website. You get to see the action but the people commentating either don't do any at all where it's just the game or there is a guy talking and he can't comment worth a shit! This is why i hate watching our local team's commentator when watching the sunday home games. I can't go cause I work 3rd shift and while 1pm is normally a good time for anyone i can't attend since i have to work that night. I try to watch the whole game at work later that day but like i said either they have no one talking unless they have that one guy that just babbles and never call the plays properly. I am forced to watch when i am trying to listen while i work and i can't enjoy the game and work at the same time somehow. At lest the local TV station does highlights i can catch that on the 11pm news.

Sort:  

Recently ESPN or it might be Fox started having condensed games where they skip all the BS and just show you the action. This is something I can get behind and enjoy on TV. It is also true with American Football. Especially for the games where I don't really have a horse in the race I like how they can take a 3 hour game and make it 30 minutes long.

either they have no one talking unless they have that one guy that just babbles and never call the plays properly.

Commentary is such an essential part of most games and this would annoy me as well. Sometimes I enjoy the bizarre statistic more than I do the actual game and the absence of such commentary would make a boring situation unbearable.

This video is one of the games i was talking about that makes it unwatchable. The funny thing is i made a comment in person to the people in charge of the livestream. I told them they need to do something to help track what inning it is. They just added the scoreboard to "make things better". Finally from June onward they used the audio from the radio broadcast.