You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should I Try and Give More of a Toss About Football Now?

in #sports3 years ago

About the only time I watch any footie is during a big tournament and then I'm not too worried who wins. I've never been to a professional match and I couldn't tell you what teams the players are in. Games can be dull as goals are so infrequent. Despite that it's nice to have something that brings the country together. The last time England won a major trophy was the year I was born, so this is a big deal. Of course English/British sports people have won plenty of other things in the meantime, but they tend not to have songs written about them.

Some years ago a house just up from us had a massive England flag painted on the side and got in all the papers. I can't seem to find a picture now though.