theLEAGUEFEED: A Personal Trek into the Social Sports Industry

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

theLEAGUEFEED logo.jpg

Leaving the Corporate Maze

I hear the whispers. People, friends, former co-workers, family... quietly talking amongst themselves. Wondering why or how I have lost my way. This strange infatuation, this impassioned quixotic venture where I snatch the golden ring on my merry go round pass.

'What's he thinking?', 'Look at where he is.', 'He's lost it...'

I hear it. And occasionally I have my doubts. I question my vision, the course I have set. And then a couple of things happen...
I remember corporations don't reward those who contribute the most, rather those who can jockey themselves into position to take credit for those contributions and innovations.
And then I look at some of my old bosses and where they are now. Some have fought their way into higher positions and shortened 3-letter titles, and are digging in, trying to hang onto the throne as long as they can. Some have retired and look back at the industry, feeling they can still contribute, but they realize they are only visitors, divorced, calling on their old family when they stop in to say hello...
And there are some dullards who have entrenched themselves into 'special positions' who will grind it out until their cholesterol and clogged veins finally catch up with them, part of the crowd Art Bell once called 'the useless eaters'.
In any case, what difference did any one of these people really make? Is the corporation any better since they spent their life's work on it's growth. Or has the corporation merely used these people's lives and dreams and exertions as momentary fuel for the system-- like eating, digesting and shitting out a ham sandwich-- one of thousands and thousands it will consume over it's lifetime... A nice house, retirement, things I never really wanted anyway. The comfort of playing a game and winning, but only playing one game, only experiencing one big race, and having that to reflect upon, only that. For their Retirement Days...for months...for years...
And I look around at these individuals who's sole pursuit in life is to be a piece of meat between two slices of bread for some larger entity to consume at will, to fuel it, to be one meal in many, an afterthought, a flush...
A little over the top? Eh, maybe. But it does put me back on track...

And I look at what lies before me, this Promised Land where I have tilled the ground and planted, with sore back and calloused hands, and begin to see sprouts...

The Adult Social Sports Community

It all started off with this in the '90s, when I was working radio and tv (as well as bartending) in a beach town...
(The League Show recorded in the 90's)[

(heads up, this is off an old vhs tape I found in the basement--quality is terrible)

Summer was ending, and our local channel lacked 'pieces'-- 5 or so minute features on a business in town focusing on directing tourists to their businesses. " We're here today at Mackey's Bar and Grill on.... They run specials here on... Come meet the friendly staff... " An interview with the owner, shots of the food, happy customers, the sun setting over the bay... It's what we did all Summer. And then Winter arrived... The shows turned to more of a local focus and programming was a lot more open to ideas to generate viewer interest and ad dollars.
I had a great idea!-- I played leagues for a couple of years at this point. Helped grow them a the bar I worked at and became quite good at recruiting people to play. I had a little different approach. Most teams were formed with people who already played the sports. Whether it was pool or darts or shufflebowl or foosball or whatever. I looked at the customers who I would like to see on league night. The best customers and patrons of the bar, not necessarily the best players. I would pull them aside while I bartended and challenge them to a game on the dart board, pool table, etc. I gave them a taste of a game they have seen others playing, made sure they had fun (I have been known to be a little bit of a showman), and gradually built teams with them. They still came to win on league night, but it was much more important that they had fun and the bar really prospered from having it's best customers and their friends in on additional evenings... So the leagues were a big part of locals' off season, hence a big part of our Winter VIEWING AUDIENCE'S interest...
What if I put together a league show, brought on a couple of sponsors, offered a tip or two on how to play different sports, hosted a special tournament here and there, interviewed a player, etc and did each show from a sponsor location pressing their off season specials for the first minute. I would wrap with league standings for the week and any big matches coming up...
And then, urged by wife and family, our family left the beach to start a 'real' career.
I left that life, and the leagues behind, but that show and the leagues never left my mind. For twenty years I have mentally adjusted this show, in my head and in notebooks. Until now...
Within the past couple of years I have made a real push to become a voice for this industry. AND the signs are promising:

  • Social Sports Businesses vs Coin-op/Amusement Companies (Grouping)
  • Niche TV Networks
  • YouTube and Social Media Sports Presence
  • Stores, Software and Support
  • 'Paranormal' Model
    ####And it's these Signs, and Others, we will discuss in the next post....

IMG_0533.JPG

theLEAGUEFEED

A growing resource with articles (original and resteemed) about the adult social sports league community (podcast in the works)

If learning to play these sports, from how to find a league to sign up with, through all stages of learning the game you choose interests you, along with setting up and running leagues, well give me a follow.

ALWAYS looking for quality content! If you are posting anything along these lines, leave me know. If it's quality I would love to resteem or link within one of my posts!

Building Stronger Leagues is name of the game....

and don't forget to Feed the Leagues!

🎱
Swansed

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Swansed from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 0.94 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @swansed.

Congratulations @swansed! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @swansed! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!