College Football Top 25 Picks for 9/17

in #sports8 years ago

Just for the record, my overall record is probably going to be horrible, but here are my Top 25 picks for this week:

#6 Houston vs. Cincinnati
Its becoming increasingly obvious not to bet against Tom Herman. Houston 35, Cincinnati 17

#21 Baylor vs. Rice
Event without Art Briles, Baylor seems to be rolling. Baylor 56, Rice 3

South Carolina vs. #5 Clemson
Clemson has already defeated one SEC team this year - Auburn. Clemson rolls, 31-14

#2 Florida State vs. #10 Louisville
Did you see Florida State's comeback victory against Ole Miss? Florida State 42, Louisville 35

Ohio vs. #15 Tennessee
Tennessee is beginning to get settled in, defeating Virginia Tech 45-24 last week. Vols take it 49-10

North Dakota State vs. #13 Iowa
I have a feeling that this year we will be crowning a Big 10 team as the national champion. Iowa is one of the teams in the mix. Iowa wins 42-7

Georgia State vs. #9 Wisconsin
Wisconsin beat LSU, a team that was considered to be in contention for the national title this year, and defeated Akron last week 54-10. Wisconsin takes it by a similar margin, 49-10

#25 Miami vs. Appalachian State
This one is a tough one. Appalachian State is a very good team. I say App State pulls off the upset, 38-35

#1 Alabarfa vs. #19 Ole Miss
Alabarfa hasn't had much success against Ole Miss in recent years and I'm sure Nick Saban wants to right the ship. However, I just can't get myself to pick them, so Ole Miss pulls of the 2nd upset of the day, 19-17

Colorado vs. #4 Michigan
I hate to say this, because I'm a Michigan State fan, but Michigan looks like they are on a mission this year and could not only take the Big 10 but win the National Championship. Michigan breezes past Colorado, 66-13

#22 Oregon vs. Nebraska
This game will be one that determines the perception of the PAC-12's strength. this year. Its hard to bet against Oregon but I think this is going to be a big year for the Big 10. Nebraska 52, Oregon 49

#17 Texas A&M vs. Auburn
Whoo, another tough matchup. Auburn hasn't looked their best but they got things going against Arkansas State. Tough, tough, tough call. I'd love for nothing more than another SEC team to have at least one loss though, so fly eagle fly. Auburn 31, Texas A&M 27

Mississippi State vs. #20 LSU
After the loss to Wisconsin, its hard to imagine the LSU squad taking any game lightly. LSU 35, MSST 33

North Texas vs. #23 Florida
North who? Florida 35, North Texas 13

#12 Michigan State vs. #18 Notre Dame
Ah, my beloved Spartans. I want to pick you guys, but that opener against Furman left me wondering. Michigan State and Notre Dame usually come down to the last few minutes and have had some of the most hair raising, nail biting endings to games. Michigan State 34, Notre Dame 30

Texas State vs. #24 Arkansas
I want Texas State, but Bret knows how to get his guys to compete. 31-24 Arkansas

#16 Georgia vs. Missouri
This is a tough one to call too. Georgia is good but not great, and the same could be said about Missouri. 23-20 Dawgs.

#3 Ohio State vs. #14 Oklahoma
I love Oklahoma but it really does seem that they were overrated this year; then again, its early in the season. Ohio State looks like a national title contender for sure. 37-24 Ohio State

Portland State vs. #8 Washington
Sadly, I don't know much about either team, so I'll go with the expectation. Washington 52-3

USC vs. #7 Stanford
Stanford beat a tough Kansas State team; USC lost to Alabarfa pretty bad but rebounded witha 45-7 win against, uhm, I'm not sure. I'm not sure if this is a rival game or not, I'm not up on my PAC-12. I could see the upset but I'm going to have to go with the Cardinal 35-33

#11 Texas vs. Cal
Texas won a thriller against Notre Dame and blew out their next opponent while Cal lost to San Diego State 45-40. Texas rolls to a win 45-17.

College football fans, who are you picking this week?

Sort:  

UPDATE

Prediction: Houston 35, Cincinnati 17
Actual Score: Houston 40, Cincinnati 16

Houston was winning 33-16 and I thought wow, I nailed that one and then their defense gets an interception and goes in for another touchdown to go up 40-16. Oh well. :P

Current prediction record (based on W/L): 1-0

UPDATE

Prediction: Baylor 56, Rice 3
Actual Score: Baylor 38, Rice 10

Rice kept it closer than I thought they would, but Baylor still rolls for a W.

Current prediction record: (based on W/L): 2-0

Prediction: South Carolina 14, Clemson 35
Actual Score: South Carolina State 0, Clemson 59

So, I missed the "State" at the end of South Carolina. Either way, Clemson wins.

Current prediction record (based on W/L): 3-0