NBA Playoff Update April 30, 2018

in #sports6 years ago

Cavaliers Win Series 4-3

*Game 7 Score: #4 Cavs Win (105) Beat #5 Pacers (101)

I’m not going to gush over LeBron…… the guys good at basketball, we get it…. I think Tristan Thompson was the X factor in this game. He didn’t play at all the entire series, but in Thompson's first start since March 28, he scored 15 points on 5-of-6 from the field to go with 10 rebounds. He gave them 35 huge minutes.

For the Pacers, Oladipo had 30 points and played the way All Stars are supposed to in an elimination game. He is going to take his game to another level this offseason and be a SUPERSTAR next year. I was disappointed in Lance Stephenson, who only gave them 11 minutes, and Bogdanovic who shot 1 of 9 from the field. Darren Collison missed an absolutely wide open 3 pointer that would have pulled the game to 3 points with about 90 seconds remaining. He was so wide open that I have to mention how his missing of that shot was essentially the end of the game, totally demoralizing for Indiana.

I will get into the Cavs Raptors matchup at the end of this post. SCROLL DOWN if you want to read that immediately.

LBJ.jpg

Houston Leads Series 1-0

*Game 1 Score: #1 Houston Rockets(110) Beat #5 Jazz (96)

The Jazz don’t have Ricky Rubio, which is a bummer. I so badly wanted to see this well-oiled Jazz TEAM go up against the largely iso ball that Houston tends to play. Without Rubio, Its too much on Donovan Mitchell’s hands. This is really sad, because I thought this could be an awesome series, but if Rubio is done, the Jazz are done.

Harden killed them the first game, 41 points, 8 rebounds, 7 assists and Houston was up by 25 at halftime. The Jazz, who didn't wrap up their first-round series with Oklahoma City until late Friday night, looked sluggish. It was Houston's fourth straight win by 10 or more points this postseason, and the Rockets have won their five games against the Jazz by an average of 16.8 points.

Donovan Mitchell was shaken up when Eric Gordon stepped on his ankle as he drove to the basket with about 5 1/2 minutes remaining. Luc Mbah a Moute had three points and three rebounds in his first postseason action since dislocating his right shoulder on April 10. ... Clint Capela had 16 points and 12 rebounds for his third straight double-double. The Rockets are going to be able to easily beat the Jazz without Rubio, and get there whole team back, ready, and in sync for the ultimate showdown to come with the Warriors.

HARD.jpg

Warriors Lead Series 1-0

*Game 1 Score: #2 Warriors (123) Beat #6 Pelicans (101)

Draymond Green finished with 16 points, 15 rebounds, 11 assists, 3 steals, and 2 blocks. The man can fill a stat sheet.

It sounds like Curry is coming back for Game 2, which I don’t get. Steph should either sit until they lose a game to the Pelicans, or be brought back in Game 4 if the Warriors are leading 3-0. This guy is the best shooter in the history of the game, it only takes one game for him to get the rhythm back. My prediction on this series is the Warriors win in 5 games.

DRAY.jpg

UPCOMING SERIES

Boston Vs 76ers

*Game 1 @ Boston Tonight 8PM Eastern!

The 76ers are suddenly the sexy pick to win the East, I don’t buy it. I think they have flaws and Brad Stevens is going to exploit that.

Marco Bellineli & JJ Redick are not going to go off this series the way they did against the Heat. Boston has tough nose guards Rozier, Marcus Smart, etc. and are going to lock that down.

Embiid and Horford will be a good matchup. I don’t think Joel is going to dominate Horford, he’s a savvy All Star veteran. I have Boston winning this series in 7 Games. The X factor for me will be Dario Saric, if he can put together a really impressive series he could be the difference maker, but my gut is telling me to go with Boston, so thats what I’m going to do.

HORF.jpg

Raptors Vs Cavaliers

*Game 1 @ Toronto Tuesday 8PM Eastern

I’m actually worried about LeBron. He led the NBA in games and minutes played, and this series was brutal. He mentioned post game how exhausted he was, and considering the Cavs play the Raptors in less than 36 hours, thats a problem.

With that being said the Raptors (A.K.A Demar Derozan) can’t beat LeBron. Serge Ibaka is the only viable option on defense, and that isn’t going to work. I really love the depth of the Raptors, but I really just don’t see how there going to stop LeBron. Derozan is an all star in the league, but I won’t ever consider him a superstar because his defense is suspect. He shouldnt defend LeBron for even a single second this series, and if he does that bad coaching by Dwyane Casey. He’s not going to stop him, and its just going to deflate his offensive efficiency. My prediction is the Cavs lose Game 1 due to the quick turnaround, but still win the series in 6 games.

DEROZN.jpg

Let me know who you are picking in Round 2 and in how many games! My Picks Are Below

Houston Vs Jazz (Rockets in 5 Game)
Warriors Vs Pelicans (Warriors in 5 Games)
Boston Vs 76ers (Boston in 7 Games)
Cavs Vs Raptors (Cavs in 6 Games)

Sort:  

I think I'll pick Phil over Boston although they're loosing as I write this. GS over Pels..Houston over Rickyless Utah and Raptors in 7.

Love the work you put in. Tristan was huge! wanted to post my predictions but dont have time, did post about my favorites of the week yesterday.
Hope you are wrong with the Raptors.

Thanks!! I appreciate you as well and hope I am wrong about the Raptors. They got such great depth with the young guys emerging like Delon Wright, Fred Van Fleet, Siakam, etc. But none of them can contain LBJ. Playoffs are all about matchups.