Sport is often more important for the mental health rather than physical

in #sports6 years ago

I am a very peaceful person so it should make no sense for me to practice kickboxing, right? Well, I never seemed to make much sense with my life decisions to others... but let me try to explain myself.

Firstly, I hate doing sports. Well, hate might be too radical expression but I would certainly choose to lay down on a sofa and watch a good basketball game rather than participate in one myself. However, I came to a realization that without sports my everyday life sucks as well. I lose my energy and I cannot concentrate anymore. And the worst part, I have no good ideas for my writing. That is why I pushed myself to my first kickbox practice, which I freaking hated. It was as if someone opened the gates to hell and threw me in the deepest circle of all.

But I kept suffering one practice after another until the first results showed. And I am not talking about my physical achievements. It was my emotional improvement that surprised me the most. People mostly talk about sports as an instrument to keep a good shape, but nice abs are only good for a tinder profile picture. Emotional and mental strength, however, is essential to living at least a decent life.

And these days, when I learned how to keep track of my mental and physical well-being, I clearly see that without sports my mind degenerates faster than my body, which is kind of cool. Of course, many might say that they can spend days without moving and still be productive, but I call bullshit on this. Physical activeness has such an underrated impact on people's creativity and productivity.

I am currently laying in bed with an injury which kept me from sports for 2 weeks now and I already feel how I lose concentration just a little too much and I also get tired from sleeping sometimes. So, guys, please start moving and grooving... and also keep track of your own mind so you could start appreciating all the efforts you put into being active. Yup, if not for the mental strength and emotional stability, I would easily not leave my bed for years... and would be proud of that because only focusing on creating a beautiful body is nothing more than an insecurity of a broken soul.

boxing.jpg
Obviously, kickboxing is a friendly sport if you approach it with a friendly attitude

Sort:  

I absolutely agree with you. If it weren't for sport, I'm certain I'd've thrown myself off some high building by now.

Oh yeah, that might be a little too drastic but I totally get your point :)