You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time for Baseball to Make a Radical Change: Blow Up the Ninth Inning and Let the Stars Shine

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

You have made such an elegant analysis of baseball game...I couldn't dare to disagree...I always thought that I hated baseball cause I am an south asian and we south asians love cricket...But you did gave solid reasons about baseball's demise as a game.
Cricket and baseball are step brothers....

I would love to have your thoughts about Cricket...I believe the cricket is progressing very well despite being almost same as baseball...
Perhaps the introduction of 20/20 format is doing the trick for cricket...Any thoughts by you about cricket...???

Sort:  

Cricket seems like a wonderful sport. It's good for patient fans, just like baseball's. Making changes is difficult, but sometimes it's the way to move the game forward.

Everytime I watch a baseball game I fall asleep. This article should be forwarded to MLB head office I'm Twitter spamming this one.

5 day cricket was killing the game, so they introduced 1 day formate and now realizing the need for change they introduced 20/20 format...
So you are right progressive changes are always necessary!!!

Time will tell if 20/20 is the progressive change cricket needed. At the moment it is the flashy new toy and attracting a lot of attention. I would still like to see the 5 day tests continue at a high standard but the 2 formats are not complimentary at all!

Sake of justice it is worth noting, that “relatives” cricket and paws there are around the world. In America it's baseball in Finland is pesapallo, Germany - slugball in Romania - Oina, Cuba - pilot, and certainly isn't everything. All these games share similarities in the rules and the main attributes: the bat and the ball.

Yeh perhaps a shorter 20/20 style version of Baseball would help it to regain appeal!

Experimenting isn't that bad afterall!