My Favourite Sports Science and Strength Training Resources!

in #sportscience7 years ago (edited)

I'd like to share this with anyone who is into health, fitness or Sports Science. 

These are a few of the awesome resources and blogs I regularly visit that are not as dry as reading papers from a journal.  I find they really help with my own training as well as professional development for my athletes.

THE SCIENCE OF SPORT – this site has some great news on current research findings, training concepts and the latest doping scandals. The only downside is its not the cleanest site to navigate.

MY SPORTS SCIENCE – This guy is awesome! The graphics he does to illustrate research findings are amazing. I wish I could make my graphics look that good! The only thing with this site is its more endurance sport based with not too much strength training however its a fantastic resource.

ATHLETES AUTHORITY– This is the latest one I have been following and its already a massive favourite. Some seriously good blogs that are very relevant to athletes and written in a way that can be applied to everyone from the weekend warrior to the elite athlete.

LESTER HO THE TRAINING GEEK – For all things Olympic lifting and biomechanics. I have never met Lester however everyone I know who has raves about him. His blog and Instagram reflects what I have heard about the guy. Practical, evidence based and a real emphasis on the individual not just cookie cutter techniques for every athlete. Awesome reading.

EDGE PERFORMANCE (Instagram) – One of my favourite complete athlete training Instagram pages to follow. Luke has a huge variety of athletes that he provides access to via his insta posts. This is another guy who uses evidence based training and from what I can see some great outside the box thinking with his athletes. If I am stuck for an idea or need to think out side the box for one of my athletes this is one of the places I go for inspiration.

MIKE BOYLE– I have been following Mike for years!!!! His adaptation of the research into practice, athlete training tips and videos is fantastic. This guys is a must read.

ERIC CRESSEY – Much like Mike Boyle, I have found his articles and videos to be a great reference. The only issue is he is very baseball focused which may not apply to most people in Australia however much of his ideas cross over to other athletes.

BRET CONTRERAS PhD – AKA The Glute Guy has some fantastic articles on all things glute training. He is a published researcher and has some great insight into one of the most important muscles athletes need to train for performance.Let me know what your favourite blogs are!

Mr SportScience BAppSc (Ex&SpS) MSc High Performance Science

www.swifthighperformance.com.au

Sort:  

This is a really great resource!