Breakaway

Four riders trying to hold a break, while the chasing group is closing in. This shot was taken on a bright sunny day with my Nikon D50 (f/5.3 at 1/1000 sec. ISO 200, focal length 250mm). I generally use manual focus to shoot bike races, because the fast movement wreaks havoc with autofocus (at least with my 12 year old DSLR). In this case, I focused on the location I wanted, and waited for the lead riders to come into the frame. Not every shot works, but I generally do enjoy the process of race photography. The race is constantly changing, so you have to think and move fast… and that’s what makes it exciting.

breakaway-1.jpg

Shared for @juliank’s #sportsphotography theme. Follow @photocontests to see the winners and to learn more about the daily contests.

Sort:  

Great photo! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! I love getting out to shoot bike races...more so than actually racing these days.

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone