Lippi: I turned down Spurs because I didn't speak English well – but neither could Sir Alex!

in #sportstalk5 years ago

credit

The China national team head coach , Marcello Lippi has explained the reason why he could not manage in England and turned down a job offered him at Tottenham. He could not speak good English.

He also discussed his friendship with a Manchester United legend, Sir Alex Ferguson when the Scotsman was with Manchester United and Lippi was head coach with Juventus.

I didn't speak English well and that was also a reason I declined. Someone told me that Ferguson also didn't speak English well because he was Scottish!”

Lippi also has strong admiration for former United midfielders Roy Keane and Paul Scholes.

source

Sort:  

I wish the current Red Devils boss Ole Gunnar Solskjaer well in his quest to restore United to their former glory , like the days of Sir Alex Ferguson.

Two jolly good fellows. They both took their clubs to the greatest heights.