Atletico Madrid striker Costa handed six-month prison sentence and fined for tax fraud

in #sportstalk4 years ago

image.png
Source

Atletico Madrid's Diego Costa has pleaded guilty to defrauding the Spanish state of more than €1 million (£813,000/$1,127,000) after failing to declare payments of over €5m earned from his 2014 move to Chelsea.

There are some laws that I find questionable and wonder how we got there in the first place. Or just maybe I don't get it. Under a fair circumstances why is it a must for me to declare payments I earn over a business transaction?
Tax my friend Tax! I just feel taxation is theft! Maybe it's not just tax but other offences as well.

In Costa's case, the Brazil-born Spain international will fork out an additional payment of just over €500,000 on top of the missing €1m in order to fully satisfy the courts, with a failure to declare image rights also having come under the state's microscope.

With Costa being a first time offender, he has the chance to pay a fine provided the sentence is less than two years. So for six month sentence he earns the chance to pay a fine and the court, the state needs to be satisfied but in order to achieve satisfaction Costa must fork out over 1.5 million Euros.
The likes of Messi, Ronaldo have also been accused of similar crime in the past. I just feel being punished for failing to declare one's earnings is unjust.

More on the news here: Link

We owe it to ourselves to make Hive great

Sort:  

Can't say I understand soccer! hahaha but i'll put a small vote :)