Forest Walk

in #spring6 years ago (edited)

 It is been a while since I went for a walk in the forest. We’ve been having trouble with mosquitoes. With all the water from the snow melt in April we have had mosquito central out here they are just loving it. So it’s been very difficult to come into the bush. I’m trying a garlic tincture in water to see if it will work to keep the mosquitoes away. The tincture is garlic and Brandy and I put a couple of drops of the tincture in a little bit of water in my hand and then rubbed it on my  skin and I’m testing it out to see if it works on this bush walk.

So the last time I went on the bush walk I took a picture of the raspberry patch so here’s another picture of our raspberry patch growing up and extending because it’s actually extended right out to the path that I’m walking on.

Here are some beautiful little purple flowers growing close to the  ground. A nice spring flower. I have to try and look it up and see what they are.


The blueberry patch is coming nicely. Which is really great to see, we will have lots of blueberries this year.  With the blueberry patch the trick is to get the blueberries before the bears.

The Labrador Tea patches is growing well, it is a tea that we will use. It can be dries and saved for when we want to have a tea. After it’s done flowering we can get out and start picking leaves for teas. Labrador Tea actually is a year round plant. We can pick it even in the winter time which is really nice because if someone is sick we can just go and pick it.  It can be used for many types of ailments such as asthma, cough and colds, stomachaches and more.   

This is just one of the trails that we use in our in our back yard to collect things. They generally look like this it’s taken us a number of years to build these trails. We have just followed the natural way of the bush where there is no large trees.  We do have a a quad that we use at times especially if we’re pulling out wood from the bush so that’s why it looks like a road. We have 72  acres and there’s trails all over for us to be able to access all the different portions of the bush.

Here is some sweet grass is just beginning to grow up and out it’s a smaller sweet grass plant so the leaves of the grass will probably only get to be about 10 inches long maybe 12 if we’re lucky. The bigger ones are further back in our bush and their leaves get to be up to 2 feet long so therefore we can braid the sweetgrass way easier with the larger ones. I’m not going back that far in the bush today because my mosquito stuff is wearing off and now I’m becoming a tasty treat. So I’m headed back back to the house.  There’s a wind today, but it’s not quite as effective as I was hoping to keep the mosquitoes away.


 

Sort:  

Another great one about the forest walk and it's always nice to see you exploring those little grass and those purple flowers and blueberries as you walk.

Thank for sharing as always :)

There is so much in the forest to explore. We have been here for 11 years and we still find new things back there. Walking in the forest is very theraputic for us. We can be back there and the rest of the world seems to disapear.

Yeah, nature offers us so much to enjoy and explore.

It's always enjoyable when we go out in greenery and forest.

Thanks again for sharing this.

Not sure what is happening, if it is my end or yours but the photos would not load for me. I'll try again a little later and see if the problem has corrected itself.

No it is not on your end. I tried to take out the pictures and replace them but it doesn't seem to make a difference. I am not sure what is going on. I will retry to fix it after I talk to Rob to see if he knows what to do. Maybe I need to do another post.

Hmnn.... your pics did not come through. Perhaps it's me? I have a mosquito solution: move to Nevada. No water. No mosquitoes.

Yes I need to look into that. Sorry the pics didn't load. Move to Nevada, great solution. Now we need to convince Rob. Oh and attempt to get across the border. Haha I don't think they will let us in. They will let Canada keep us, then they won't have do deal with us.

Sounds like an amazing walk! I didn't get the pictures to load. The black flies here are merciless. I can hardly wait for our mosquitos to kick in. NOT! I haven't found anything that really works. Just fashionable mosquito netting. :(
Its wonderful to hear how you guys are doing. Thank you for sharing!

Yes I am not getting them to load up either. Rob had that problem with one of his recent posts. I wonder if it is our internet. I will check it out.
I sure hope you don't have the mosquitoes we have, it is brutal. My next walk will be with bee keeping suit on.

I laugh at the beekeeping suit!! That's what we wear!!! Lol hopefully they move out fast for you. That's a pretty great contraption with the fan!

Yes it does sound funny to wear the bee keeping suit. We gotta do what we gotta do.

The mosquito contraption is working great. There were less mosquitoes last night. It made doing chores much better. We figure if we put a light on it it will catch the flies as well when they come out. Maybe you could make one for your place?

My solar system is too small...come on steem!!
I think a light is a brilliant idea!

That is too bad your solar system is too small. Yes we sure do need steem to take off like they talk about.

those purple flowers are violets!! they make the nicest jelly!! (the flowers). The leaves are edible too! i dehydrate them, and use them in salad. They are also loved by the animals in the winter. they are high in vitamin A and c.

:) Love the pictures!! you have way nicer trails than I do! LOL