Build Up to Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup and National Expectations of Team Nigeria

in #sprtshub6 years ago

1527362383_fifa.jpeg
Source

The FIFA World Cup is the highest and most recognized platform any footballer (professional or amateur) or nation can showcase soccer prowess. In the soccer world, it is the “Greatest Show on Earth” and that singular reason is responsible for all efforts in planning and preparation for qualifying nations in every edition of the global event. The competition has been held every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except during the Second World War in 1942 and 1946. The last edition was hosted in Brazil in 2014 and won by Germany for the fourth time. Nigeria will join 30 other nations that booked a spot in the tournament by virtue of earning the required points in the qualifying matches. The host, Russia qualifies automatically.


1527362430_team.jpeg
Source

Nigeria has had five outings in the finals of the FIFA World Cup. In the 1994 edition hosted by USA, Nigeria reached the second round. It was generally seen as a good outing as that marked the first world cup appearance for the country. The Eagles repeated this level of success in the 1998 and 2014 editions of the world cup hosted by France and Brazil respectively. The 2002 and 2010 editions were adjudged by fans and pundits as poor world cup outing for Nigeria as the country could not go beyond the group stages of the tournament. The 2002 tournament jointly hosted by Korea and Japan was quite dismal for the Super Eagles who managed to score one goal. The Nigeria's Super Eagles will make their sixth appearance at the finals in the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.


In an effort to perfect their strategy and ensure great performance in the world cup, 5 buildup matches have been scheduled for Team Nigeria out of which 3 have been played.
On 23rd March, 2018, Nigeria slugged it out with Poland winning their opponent on home soil by a goal. The match with Serbia was played on 27th March, 2018 in London with Nigeria losing with 2 goals deficit while the match with DR Congo in Abuja on May 28, 2018 also ended in a 2 – 0 loss for Team Nigeria. However, the Eagles Team B made up of mostly home-based players had a friendly match with Spanish club, Atletico Madrid which ended in a 3 – 2 loss to the Eagles. Nigeria will clash with England on June 2, 2018 at Wembley and then against Czech Republic on June 6, 2018 in Austria. Although the final 30-man squad list is expected to be announced on June 1st, 2018, pundits have tipped some players to make the team based on their performances and the body language of the team coach, Gernot Rohr. The whole world awaits this list!

Mikel Obi, Super Eagles Captain
1527362458_mikel.jpeg
Source

Nigeria will play in Group D with Argentina, Croatia and Iceland. All eyes will be on the Super Eagles of Nigeria at the 2018 World Cup in Russia and I dare say that the whole country has quite high expectations of Team Nigeria.

Sort:  

The world cup is the greatest global football stage. That's where men are separated from boys.

Matter of fact, you are not considered a complete football legend if you never played at the world cup or win it.

In fact, in the past few years, the best footballer in the world in a year the world cup is held is the most valuable player at that world cup.

Russia 2018 will be an interesting time. May the best country win.

You talk am well my broda! Thanks and Amen!

We all have high expectations o

I feel like being there, or will you sponsor me there @mosunomotunde?

hehehehehe...your question was for laughs yeah? You got me laughing bruv! Cheers

Ah, see you o, I didn't know you liked football. So you're anticipating it like us. Cool 👍
I'm really looking forward to it, myself. I'm not going to hope on the Nigerian team because that's a shortcut to high blood pressure, don't do same too. I will just watch every team for the fun of good football. 😁

Alright, it's nice to see females who love football, and I know females have better instincts and better guessing abilities than the male folk, so tell me, please! Would you be guessing the outcomes of some of the matches for me so that I'll go and bet and win some money? I want to buy steem with the money 😁

image

hahahahaha....nope! No guessing. And to be quite honest, I'm no football fan at all. Put this post together with the help of a dear dear friend/football lover.

LOL. What a waste of instincts! 😂 😂

lol...sorry!

Been a while since I looked at the national team, or even football in general. I see a lot of fair guys on the lineup. Nigeria going white? (non-racist). The only person I could recognize was Obi Mikel.

Success, team Nigeria.

lol....na so we see am o! Yes, success for team Nigeria IJN!

I wish them all the best....i pray they make us proud....nice content dear.

I am usually surprised when I see ladies who are football enthusiast, and I ask myself why aren't I one. I love the way you presented this article. Kudos my lady

All the way our dear super eagles, I pray they break the jinks and bring back the trouphy.

Yesso. I remember while in camp, a lot of guys were very surprised to see me always cheering up my favourite platoon. It is indeed rare for ladies to even write football articles.

I must commend you @mosunmotunde, you did a very great job.

By the way, I don't expect anything from the Nigerian team. Expectations hurt, and I am not ready to give myself hypertension (lol)

I don't know why something keeps telling me that Nigeria is going to bring the cup back home, the way they are going to use to do this, i dont know but that strong feeling within me stil tells me that the world cup for 2018 is coming home. Nice article you have got ma'am

The most interesting thing about this World Cup is that Nigerians are putting a lot of Faith in the Nigerian Team

Someone said that they will get to the final just like Liverpool reached the Champions league Final

Is this the year of the underdogs?

Time will tell

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by omotundegirls from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.